Review: Give to the Heart Volume 1 by Wann


Give to the Heart Volume 1 by Wann

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: NetGalley
Publication Date: October 7th 2014
Publisher: NETCOMICS
Point of View: Feminine
Genres & Themes: Manga, Young Adult, Fantasy, Gods, Romance

BLURB:

In the far-off distant future, the Earth suffers a cataclysm that destroys modern civilization. Over centuries, human survivors regroup and organize into primitive cities. Three godlike beings arise and oversee the well-being of the world. Lord Ganok rules all waters. Nations prosper – or starve – on his whim. He nourishes farmlands with rainfall or blights entire realms with drought. He can unleash violent storms that level entire cities. Yet, despite all his awe-inspiring abilities, the Water King can’t win the heart of a simple human woman named Sooyi. Lord Ganok quickly learns that the human heart contains more intense storms than he could ever hope to create. Furthermore, Sooyi seeks out a power of her own in order to fulfill an old vendetta…the power to slay the Water King once and for all!

REVIEW:

WHAT THE HELL. I should have known better… We have a problem here.

Here is the Goodreads description for this book:

In the far-off distant future, the Earth suffers a cataclysm that destroys modern civilization. Over centuries, human survivors regroup and organize into primitive cities. Three godlike beings arise and oversee the well-being of the world. Lord Ganok rules all waters. Nations prosper – or starve – on his whim. He nourishes farmlands with rainfall or blights entire realms with drought. He can unleash violent storms that level entire cities. Yet, despite all his awe-inspiring abilities, the Water King can’t win the heart of a simple human woman named Sooyi. Lord Ganok quickly learns that the human heart contains more intense storms than he could ever hope to create. Furthermore, Sooyi seeks out a power of her own in order to fulfill an old vendetta…the power to slay the Water King once and for all!

And here is the NetGalley description for this book:

The most fantastic journey is growing up Eleven-year-old Pepe’s world turns inside-out when he finds himself pulled inside the walls of his own home, seemingly trapped in a strange and surreal place. As he searches for a way out, he discovers a myriad of strange, intriguing, and frightening characters, who ultimately lead him to complete the greatest journey of them all: growing up.

A fantastical trip through a strange landscape that explores the changing perspective of a young boy facing adulthood. As surreal as Alice in Wonderland, with a powerful truth underneath it all. This beautifully illustrated, watercolored tale will make readers long for the simplicity of youth while embracing the wonderful complexities of adulthood: RESPONSIBILITY, LOVE, CONSEQUENCE, and ultimately the shocking, inevitable realities of LIFE and DEATH.

Written by Pierre Paquet, this honest portrayal of a moment from his own life will take readers to a land of contemplation and adventure.

WHAT THE HELL. Naturally, this is the one I read because I trust NetGalley (and that is where got this book from). Why wouldn’t I? But I can tell, after finishing this manga with my eyes hurting from rolling them so much, that there is no eleven-year-old Pepe who finds himself ‘‘embracing the wonderful complexities of adulthood’’. And, except for some pages at the beginning, it was in black and white. A manga.

But this is not why I gave this title a one star rating. It has to do with it, yes, because I was expecting something completely different, but it’s really the story that had me cheesied out of my mind. That word does not exist, I just invented it. I guess I should have known better since, obviously, the book cover portrays no eleven-year-old kid, but you never know… and NetGalley doesn’t usually do these kinds of mistakes.

This is the story of Sooyi who escapes (again and again) from the Water King’s clutches dwelling and tries to find the Dead City in order to kill him. But Lord Ganok always finds her and that with reason. After all, she is his bride.

But we don’t know this until 1/3 of the manga. She just wanders around the Mooga city and saves a random guy that is well-drawn and interesting but quite out of character in a scene in which he wishes, impulsively, to rape Sooyi. And Sooyi forgives him after like 2-3 pages. And then we never see him again.

And the Water King… *bangs head on desk* He isn’t that well-drawn, honestly. He has that half-finished kind of face. And his character WILL DRIVE YOU CRAZY. He and Sooyi have that ‘‘I hate you! I love you! I never want to see you again! I don’t want to leave your side!’’ type of relationship. And it is so intense that it made me question Sooyi. I mean come on… you don’t just go kissing around the man you want to kill. But maybe the problem relies in the fact that her true motives to kill Lord Ganok are not fully explained or detailed or even illustrated.

I do not recommend this but, if you want something of a bride/god story, I would suggest this lovely manga instead: Bride of the Water God, Volume 1.

5 thoughts on “Review: Give to the Heart Volume 1 by Wann

  1. Ugh, the hot and cold thing totally would tick me off. I am starting to really hate that in romance, or really any books at the moment. It is driving me crazy with the wishy washy-ness!
    Wonderful honest review Lola!

    Like

  2. manga really have that kind of approach in romance (on-off relationships and feelings) which is why I’m so picky when it comes to romance manga especially those targeted to young girls. especially that this is a fantasy story since I’m not a huge fantasy reader. I definitely see what you mean in here so I’m staying away from this one. Thanks for the honest review 🙂

    Like

  3. xD Wow, that seems like such a roller-coaster of a read. And the blurb? I would have been scratching my head the entire time. I saw the cover and was thinking: that actually looks kinda pretty. But I think I’ll skip this one. That hate/love relationship thing seems to show up a lot, especially in manga, so I feel mostly immune to it by now. But everything else you mentioned just sounds too confusing and not worth the effort. Thanks for the review!

    Jen @ EbonyInkReviews

    Like

Leave a Reply

