The Last Black Unicorn – Tiffany Haddish

The Last Black Unicorn by Tiffany Haddish

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Published: December 2017
Publisher: Gallery Books
Recommended Age: 16+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Adult, Memoir, Humor, Nonfiction, Abuse, Coming of Age, Celebrity Life, Life Experiences


BLURB:

Growing up in one of the poorest neighborhoods of South Central Los Angeles, Tiffany learned to survive by making people laugh. If she could do that, then her classmates would let her copy their homework, the other foster kids she lived with wouldn’t beat her up, and she might even get a boyfriend. Or at least she could make enough money—as the paid school mascot and in-demand Bar Mitzvah hype woman—to get her hair and nails done, so then she might get a boyfriend. None of that worked (and she’s still single), but it allowed Tiffany to imagine a place for herself where she could do something she loved for a living: comedy. Tiffany can’t avoid being funny—it’s just who she is, whether she’s plotting shocking, jaw-dropping revenge on an ex-boyfriend or learning how to handle her newfound fame despite still having a broke person’s mind-set. Finally poised to become a household name, she recounts with heart and humor how she came from nothing and nowhere to achieve her dreams by owning, sharing, and using her pain to heal others. Continue reading

Advertisements

Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs

Snow White and the 77 Dwarfs by Davide Cali

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: April 2015
Publisher: Tundra
Genres & Themes: Picture Book, Fairytale Retelling, Humor, Feminism


BLURB:

Snow White is on the run from an evil witch when she comes across some dwarfs in the forest. They agree to take her in and keep her safe if she will help them with their chores. She soon realizes she’s taking on a lot more than she bargained for. 77 breakfasts to make, 77 lunches to pack (don’t forget the juice boxes!), 77 pairs of pants to mend and a whole lot of dishes. Eventually Snow White decides to take her chances with the witch. There’s a surprise ending… well, it may not be so surprising. This is a hilarious retelling of the classic tale, with bright, energetic illustrations featuring busy dwarfs, and the even busier Snow White. Continue reading

Cinderella and the Furry Slippers

Cinderella and the Furry Slippers by Davide Cali

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: October 2017
Publisher: Tundra
Genres & Themes: Picture Book, Fairytale Retelling, Humor


BLURB:

Cinderella is dying to go to the ball. She’s seen pictures of the fancy castle and the handsome prince, she’s heard the fairy tales about true love, she’s found the perfect dress in Princess magazine and she’s even found an ad for a Fairy Godmother. She’s all set. Except the fairy godmother doesn’t look like the one in the ad. And the castle doesn’t look like the picture. And the prince . . . well, Cinderella decides her fairy-tale ending is going to look different–and be a whole lot more fun. Continue reading

The Tiptoeing Tiger – Philippa Leathers

The Tiptoeing Tiger by Philippa Leathers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: February 6th, 2018
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Genres & Themes: Picture Book, Animals, Siblings, Humor


BLURB:

Everyone knows that tigers are sleek, silent, and totally terrifying . . . most tigers, that is. But no one is afraid of Little Tiger. He’s just too small and clumsy to frighten anyone. Determined to prove that he is terrifying, Little Tiger sets out on tiptoe, creeping through the forest to find someone to scare. He gets yawned at and laughed at, but Little Tiger won’t give up. Is there any animal in the forest who will find him just as sleek, silent, and totally terrifying as the bigger tigers? Continue reading

Surprise Me – Sophie Kinsella

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: February 13th, 2018
Publisher: Dial Press
Recommended Age: 14+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Adult, Humor, Contemporary Romance, Family Drama


BLURB:

After being together for ten years, Sylvie and Dan have all the trimmings of a happy life and marriage; they have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, beautiful twin girls, and communicate so seamlessly, they finish each other’s sentences. However, a trip to the doctor projects they will live another 68 years together and panic sets in. They never expected “until death do us part” to mean seven decades In the name of marriage survival, they quickly concoct a plan to keep their relationship fresh and exciting: they will create little surprises for each other so that their (extended) years together will never become boring. But in their pursuit to execute Project Surprise Me, mishaps arise and secrets are uncovered that start to threaten the very foundation of their unshakable bond. When a scandal from the past is revealed that question some important untold truths, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other after all. Continue reading

Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts

29431094Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

Fans of Poorly Drawn Lines, Liz Climo, Randall Munroe, and The Oatmeal will love this riotous collection marking the return of optimistic Heart and analytical Brain with over 60 brand-new, never-before-seen comics.

Vigorously demanded and highly anticipated, Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts is the follow-up to the tremendously popular New York Times bestseller, Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection.

Continue reading

The Big Bad Fox – Benjamin Renner

big bad foxThe Big Bad Fox by Benjamin Renner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: June 20th, 2017
Publisher: First Second
Recommended Age: 8+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Children’s, Graphic Novel, Animals, Humor, Family


BLURB:

The fox dreams of being the terror of the barnyard. But no one is intimidated by him, least of all the hens. When he picks a fight with one, he always ends up on the losing end. Even the wolf, the most fearsome beast of the forest, can’t teach him how to be a proper predator. It looks like the fox will have to spend the rest of his life eating turnips.

But then the wolf comes up with the perfect scheme. If the fox steals some eggs, he could hatch the chicks himself and raise them to be a plump, juicy chicken dinner. Unfortunately, this plan falls apart when three adorable chicks hatch and call the fox Mommy. Continue reading