The Tiptoeing Tiger – Philippa Leathers

The Tiptoeing Tiger by Philippa Leathers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: February 6th, 2018
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Genres & Themes: Picture Book, Animals, Siblings, Humor


BLURB:

Everyone knows that tigers are sleek, silent, and totally terrifying . . . most tigers, that is. But no one is afraid of Little Tiger. He’s just too small and clumsy to frighten anyone. Determined to prove that he is terrifying, Little Tiger sets out on tiptoe, creeping through the forest to find someone to scare. He gets yawned at and laughed at, but Little Tiger won’t give up. Is there any animal in the forest who will find him just as sleek, silent, and totally terrifying as the bigger tigers? Continue reading

Advertisements

Surprise Me – Sophie Kinsella

Surprise Me by Sophie Kinsella

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: February 13th, 2018
Publisher: Dial Press
Recommended Age: 14+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Adult, Humor, Contemporary Romance, Family Drama


BLURB:

After being together for ten years, Sylvie and Dan have all the trimmings of a happy life and marriage; they have a comfortable home, fulfilling jobs, beautiful twin girls, and communicate so seamlessly, they finish each other’s sentences. However, a trip to the doctor projects they will live another 68 years together and panic sets in. They never expected “until death do us part” to mean seven decades In the name of marriage survival, they quickly concoct a plan to keep their relationship fresh and exciting: they will create little surprises for each other so that their (extended) years together will never become boring. But in their pursuit to execute Project Surprise Me, mishaps arise and secrets are uncovered that start to threaten the very foundation of their unshakable bond. When a scandal from the past is revealed that question some important untold truths, they begin to wonder if they ever really knew each other after all. Continue reading

Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts

29431094Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

Fans of Poorly Drawn Lines, Liz Climo, Randall Munroe, and The Oatmeal will love this riotous collection marking the return of optimistic Heart and analytical Brain with over 60 brand-new, never-before-seen comics.

Vigorously demanded and highly anticipated, Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts is the follow-up to the tremendously popular New York Times bestseller, Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection.

Continue reading

The Big Bad Fox – Benjamin Renner

big bad foxThe Big Bad Fox by Benjamin Renner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: June 20th, 2017
Publisher: First Second
Recommended Age: 8+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Children’s, Graphic Novel, Animals, Humor, Family


BLURB:

The fox dreams of being the terror of the barnyard. But no one is intimidated by him, least of all the hens. When he picks a fight with one, he always ends up on the losing end. Even the wolf, the most fearsome beast of the forest, can’t teach him how to be a proper predator. It looks like the fox will have to spend the rest of his life eating turnips.

But then the wolf comes up with the perfect scheme. If the fox steals some eggs, he could hatch the chicks himself and raise them to be a plump, juicy chicken dinner. Unfortunately, this plan falls apart when three adorable chicks hatch and call the fox Mommy. Continue reading

Cat vs Human: Another Dose of Catnip

Cat vs HumanCat vs Human: Another Dose of Catnip by Yasmine Surovec

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 15th, 2013
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 10+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Cats, Modern Life


BLURB:

In her second collection of Cat vs Human comics, Surovec dives further into the intricacies of cat ownership. Perhaps you’ve had the pleasure of awakening next to a lovely gift from your cat–such as a dead mouse or hairball–or maybe you understand the necessary pain tolerance that comes from being a scratching post for unclipped claws. Either way, this book is sure to leave you rolling with laughter . . . on your cat hair-infested floor. This collection includes 140 comics from the blog plus 21 new, never-before-seen comics created specifically for this book. Continue reading

Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection

heart and brainHeart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection by Nick Seluk

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 20th, 2015
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

From paying taxes and getting up for work to dancing with kittens and starting a band, readers everywhere will relate to the ongoing struggle between Heart and Brain.

Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection illustrates the relationship between the sensible Brain and its emotionally driven counterpart, the Heart. Continue reading

How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You

kittyHow to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You by Matthew Inman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 9th, 2012
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Animals, Modern Life, Cat Plotting


BLURB:

If your cat is kneading you, that’s not a sign of affection. Your cat is actually checking your internal organs for weakness. If your cat brings you a dead animal, this isn’t a gift. It’s a warning. How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You is an offering of cat comics, facts, and instructional guides from the creative wonderland at TheOatmeal.com. Continue reading