Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts

29431094Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

Fans of Poorly Drawn Lines, Liz Climo, Randall Munroe, and The Oatmeal will love this riotous collection marking the return of optimistic Heart and analytical Brain with over 60 brand-new, never-before-seen comics.

Vigorously demanded and highly anticipated, Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts is the follow-up to the tremendously popular New York Times bestseller, Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection.

Continue reading

Advertisements

The Big Bad Fox – Benjamin Renner

big bad foxThe Big Bad Fox by Benjamin Renner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: June 20th, 2017
Publisher: First Second
Recommended Age: 8+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Children’s, Graphic Novel, Animals, Humor, Family


BLURB:

The fox dreams of being the terror of the barnyard. But no one is intimidated by him, least of all the hens. When he picks a fight with one, he always ends up on the losing end. Even the wolf, the most fearsome beast of the forest, can’t teach him how to be a proper predator. It looks like the fox will have to spend the rest of his life eating turnips.

But then the wolf comes up with the perfect scheme. If the fox steals some eggs, he could hatch the chicks himself and raise them to be a plump, juicy chicken dinner. Unfortunately, this plan falls apart when three adorable chicks hatch and call the fox Mommy. Continue reading

Cat vs Human: Another Dose of Catnip

Cat vs HumanCat vs Human: Another Dose of Catnip by Yasmine Surovec

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 15th, 2013
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 10+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Cats, Modern Life


BLURB:

In her second collection of Cat vs Human comics, Surovec dives further into the intricacies of cat ownership. Perhaps you’ve had the pleasure of awakening next to a lovely gift from your cat–such as a dead mouse or hairball–or maybe you understand the necessary pain tolerance that comes from being a scratching post for unclipped claws. Either way, this book is sure to leave you rolling with laughter . . . on your cat hair-infested floor. This collection includes 140 comics from the blog plus 21 new, never-before-seen comics created specifically for this book. Continue reading

Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection

heart and brainHeart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection by Nick Seluk

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 20th, 2015
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

From paying taxes and getting up for work to dancing with kittens and starting a band, readers everywhere will relate to the ongoing struggle between Heart and Brain.

Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection illustrates the relationship between the sensible Brain and its emotionally driven counterpart, the Heart. Continue reading

How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You

kittyHow to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You by Matthew Inman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 9th, 2012
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Animals, Modern Life, Cat Plotting


BLURB:

If your cat is kneading you, that’s not a sign of affection. Your cat is actually checking your internal organs for weakness. If your cat brings you a dead animal, this isn’t a gift. It’s a warning. How to Tell If Your Cat Is Plotting to Kill You is an offering of cat comics, facts, and instructional guides from the creative wonderland at TheOatmeal.com. Continue reading

Super Narwhal and Jelly Jolt

super narwhalSuper Narwhal and Jelly Jolt by Ben Clanton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: May 2nd, 2017
Publisher: Tundra Books
Recommended Age: 3+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Friendship, Cuteness, Superheroes


BLURB:

Happy-go-lucky Narwhal and no-nonsense Jelly find their inner superheroes in three new under-the-sea adventures. In the first story, Narwhal reveals his superhero alter-ego and enlists Jelly to help him figure out what his superpower is. Next, Narwhal uses his superpower to help a friend find his way back home. In the third story, Jelly is feeling blue and Narwhal comes to the rescue. Ben Clanton showcases the joys of friendship and the power of believing in yourself and others through this irresistible duo. Continue reading

Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea

narwhalNarwhal: Unicorn of the Sea by Ben Clanton

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: December 28th, 2016
Publisher: Tundra Books
Recommended Age: 3+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Friendship, Cuteness


BLURB:

Narwhal is a happy-go-lucky narwhal. Jelly is a no-nonsense jellyfish. The two might not have a lot in common, but they do they love waffles, parties and adventures. Join Narwhal and Jelly as they discover the whole wide ocean together. Continue reading