The Wicked King (The Folk of the Air, #2)

26032887The Wicked King by Holly Black

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Hachette Book Group Canada
Published: January 9th, 2019
Publisher: Little, Brown BFYR
Recommended Age: 14+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Fantasy, Faeries, Scheming, Political Intrigue, Romance, Family Relationships


BLURB:

After the jaw-dropping revelation that Oak is the heir to Faerie, Jude must keep her younger brother safe. To do so, she has bound the wicked king, Cardan, to her, and made herself the power behind the throne. Navigating the constantly shifting political alliances of Faerie would be difficult enough if Cardan were easy to control. But he does everything in his power to humiliate and undermine her even as his fascination with her remains undiminished. When it becomes all too clear that someone close to Jude means to betray her, threatening her own life and the lives of everyone she loves, Jude must uncover the traitor and fight her own complicated feelings for Cardan to maintain control as a mortal in a Faerie world. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Wicked (A Wicked Saga, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

22895264Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: December 8th 2014
Publisher: Indie
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres &  Themes: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Fae

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

BLURB:

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.

Continue reading

Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: May 5th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres & Themes: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fairies, Fairy Tale Retelling, Beauty and the Beast, Curse, Danger

BLURB:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down! Continue reading

Review: The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

The Darkest Part of the Forest by Holly Black

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Print ARC – borrowed
Publication Date: January 13th 2015
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Point of View: 3rd person & Alternative
Genres & Themes: YA, Paranormal, Fairies, Romance, Mystery.

BLURB:

Children can have a cruel, absolute sense of justice. Children can kill a monster and feel quite proud of themselves. A girl can look at her brother and believe they’re destined to be a knight and a bard who battle evil. She can believe she’s found the thing she’s been made for.

Hazel lives with her brother, Ben, in the strange town of Fairfold where humans and fae exist side by side. The faeries’ seemingly harmless magic attracts tourists, but Hazel knows how dangerous they can be, and she knows how to stop them. Or she did, once.

At the center of it all, there is a glass coffin in the woods. It rests right on the ground and in it sleeps a boy with horns on his head and ears as pointed as knives. Hazel and Ben were both in love with him as children. The boy has slept there for generations, never waking.

Until one day, he does…

As the world turns upside down, Hazel tries to remember her years pretending to be a knight. But swept up in new love, shifting loyalties, and the fresh sting of betrayal, will it be enough? Continue reading

Review of Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows #1) by Kim Harrison

Dead Witch Walking by Kim Harrison
Genres & themes: Adult, urban fantasy, witches, vampires, fairies, magic, friendship, trust, mystery.
Received: borrowed
My rating:  3.5 of 5 shadowed stars

SYNOPSIS:

All the creatures of the night gather in “the Hollows” of Cincinnati, to hide, to prowl, to party … and to feed.

Vampires rule the darkness in a predator-eat-predator world rife with dangers beyond imagining — and it’s Rachel Morgan’s job to keep that world civilized.

A bounty hunter and witch with serious sex appeal and an attitude, she’ll bring ’em back alive, dead … or undead.

REVIEW:
My head tells me 3 stars, but my heart says 4. Which makes an average of 3.5 (but you knew that already.)

WOW.

Continue reading