Best Young Adult Books with Mild LGBT Themes

13181300_488258718049187_436996329_n

Dear readers, I was reading an M/M romance erotica that was really disappointing me (off with Insta-Lust’s head!) when I decided to make a list of the best Young Adult books with mild LGBT themes I’ve read in my life. (Click on the covers to buy.)

Here it goes. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

Don’t Touch by Rachel M. Wilson

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars
Received: borrowed
Publication Date: September 2nd 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
POV: 1st person & female
Pacing: slow
Genres & Themes: YA, Contemporary, Mental Illness, Romance, Family, Friendship, Secrets.

BLURB:

A powerful story of a girl who is afraid to touch another person’s skin, until the boy auditioning for Hamlet opposite her Ophelia gives her a reason to overcome her fears.

Step on a crack, break your mother’s back. Touch another person’s skin, and Dad’s gone for good.

Caddie can’t stop thinking that if she keeps from touching another person’s skin, her parents might get back together… which is why she wears full-length gloves to school and covers every inch of her skin.

It seems harmless at first, but Caddie’s obsession soon threatens her ambitions as an actress. She desperately wants to play Ophelia in her school’s production of Hamlet. But that would mean touching Peter, who’s auditioning for the title role—and kissing him. Part of Caddie would love nothing more than to kiss Peter—but the other part isn’t sure she’s brave enough to let herself fall.

Perfect for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson, this debut novel from Rachel M. Wilson is a moving story of a talented girl who’s fighting an increasingly severe anxiety disorder, and the friends and family who stand by her.

Continue reading

Review of The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

The Girl from the Well by Rin Chupeco

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: bought
Publication date: August 5th, 2014
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Genres & Themes: YA, Paranormal, Mystery, Retellings, Legend.

BLURB:

A dead girl walks the streets.

She hunts murderers. Child killers, much like the man who threw her body down a well three hundred years ago.

And when a strange boy bearing stranger tattoos moves into the neighborhood so, she discovers, does something else. And soon both will be drawn into the world of eerie doll rituals and dark Shinto exorcisms that will take them from American suburbia to the remote valleys and shrines of Aomori, Japan.

Because the boy has a terrifying secret – one that would just kill to get out.

Continue reading

Review of Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice by Stacy King, Po Tse and Jane Austen

Manga Classics: Pride & Prejudice by Stacy King

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: NetGalley
Publisher: Udon Entertainment
Publication date: August 11th, 2014
Genres & Themes: YA, Manga, Historical Romance, Classics, Family, True Love.

DESCRIPTION:

Beloved by millions the world over, Pride & Prejudice is delightfully transformed in this bold, new manga adaptation. All of the joy, heartache, and romance of Jane Austen’s original, perfectly illuminated by the sumptuous art of manga-ka Po Tse, and faithfully adapted by Stacy E. King.

Continue reading

Review of Catch a Falling Star by Kim Culbertson

Catch a Falling Star by Kim Culbertson

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: borrowed
Publication date: April 29th, 2014
Genres & Themes: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Friendship, Celebrity.

BLURB:

A deliciously charming novel about finding true love . . . and yourself.

Nothing ever happens in Little, CA. Which is just the way Carter Moon likes it. But when Hollywood arrives to film a movie starring former child star turned PR mess Adam Jakes, everything changes. Carter’s town becomes a giant glittery set and, much to her annoyance, everyone is starry-eyed for Adam. Carter seems to be the only girl not falling all over herself to get a glimpse of him. Which apparently makes her perfect for the secret offer of a lifetime: playing the role of Adam’s girlfriend while he’s in town, to improve his public image, in exchange for a hefty paycheck. Her family really needs the money and so Carters agrees. But it turns out Adam isn’t at all who she thought he was. As they grow closer, their relationship walks a blurry line between what’s real and what’s fake, and Carter must open her eyes to the scariest of unexplored worlds – her future. Can Carter figure out what she wants out of life AND get the guy? Or are there no Hollywood endings in real life?

Continue reading

Promo Post (Excerpt + Giveaway): Get Branded (Sinners #1) by Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

Branded-Cover

Title: BRANDED (Sinners #1)
Publisher: Month9Books
Author: Abi Ketner and Missy Kalicicki

BLURB:

Fifty years ago The Commander came into power and murdered all who opposed him. In his warped mind, the seven deadly sins were the downfall of society.

To punish the guilty, he created the Hole, a place where sinners are branded according to their sins. Sinners are forced to live a less than human existence in deplorable conditions, under the watchful eye of guards who are ready to kill anyone who steps out of line.

Now, LUST wraps around my neck like thick, blue fingers, threatening to choke the life out of me. I’ve been accused of a crime I didn’t commit, and the Hole is my new home.

Constant darkness.

Brutal and savage violence.

Excruciating pain.

Every day is a fight for survival.

But I won’t let them win. I will not die in the Hole.

I am more than my brand. I’m a fighter. My name is Lexi Hamilton, and this is my story.

Continue reading

Review of Wish You Were Italian (If Only… #2) by Kristin Rae

Wish You Were Italian by Kristin Rae

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: borrowed
Publication date: May 6th, 2014
Genres & Themes: YA, Traveling, Romance, Contemporary, Summer, friendship, family.

BLURB:

Pippa has always wanted to go to Italy … but not by herself. And certainly not to sit in art school the entire summer learning about dead guys’ paintings. When she steps off the plane in Rome, she realizes that traveling solo gives her the freedom to do whatever she wants. So it’s arrivederci, boring art program and ciao, hot Italian guys!

Charming, daring, and romantic, Bruno is just the Italian Pippa’s looking for—except she keeps running into cute American archeology student Darren everywhere she goes. Pippa may be determined to fall in love with an Italian guy … but the electricity she feels with Darren says her heart might have other plans. Can Pippa figure out her feelings before her parents discover she left the program and—even worse—she loses her chance at love?

Continue reading