The Tea Dragon Society

34895950The Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill

My rating: 4.5 of 5 stars
Received: Diamond Comics Distributors
First Published: October 18th, 2017
Publisher: Oni Press
Recommended Age: 6+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Culture, Children’s, Fantasy, Dragons, Friendship


BLURB:

From the award-winning author of Princess Princess Ever After comes The Tea Dragon Society, a charming all-ages book that follows the story of Greta, a blacksmith apprentice, and the people she meets as she becomes entwined in the enchanting world of tea dragons. Continue reading

Advertisements

Princess Princess Ever After

30025791Princess Princess Ever After by Katie O’Neill

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Diamond Comics Distributors
First Published: September 20th, 2016
Publisher: Oni Press
Recommended Age: 10+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Middle Grade, Fairy Tale Retellings, Lesbian, Fantasy, Humour


BLURB:

When the heroic princess Amira rescues the kind-hearted princess Sadie from her tower prison, neither expects to find a true friend in the bargain. Yet as they adventure across the kingdom, they discover that they bring out the very best in the other person. They’ll need to join forces and use all the know-how, kindness, and bravery they have in order to defeat their greatest foe yet: a jealous sorceress, who wants to get rid of Sadie once and for all. Continue reading

Past Tense – Star Spider

35068944Past Tense by Star Spider

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: April 10th, 2018
Publisher: Harper Collins
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, LGBT, Family, Mental Illness, Friendship


BLURB:

Julie Nolan is a pretty average girl with pretty average problems. She’s been in love with her best friend, Lorelei, ever since they met in grade three. Only Lorelei doesn’t know about it — she’s too busy trying to set Julie up with Henry, her ex, who Julie finds, in a word, vapid.

But life gets more complicated when Julie comes home to find her mother insisting that her heart is gone. Pretty soon it becomes clear: Julie’s mom believes that she has died.

How is Julie supposed to navigate her first year of high school now, while she’s making midnight trips to the graveyard to cover her mother with dirt, lay flowers and make up eulogies? And why is Henry the only person Julie feels comfortable turning to? If she wants to get through this, Julie’s going to have to find the strength she never knew she had, and to learn how to listen to both her mom’s heart and her own. Continue reading

Ark Angel (Alex Rider #6)

9780142407387Ark Angel by Anthony Horowitz

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: April 4th, 2005
Publisher: Puffin Books
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Espionage, Action, Mystery, Friendship


BLURB:

The sniper’s bullet nearly killed him. But Alex Rider managed to survive . . . just in time for more trouble to come his way. When kidnappers attempt to snatch a fellow patient from the exclusive hospital where Alex is recovering, he knows he has to stop him. But the boy he saves is no ordinary patient: He is the son of Nikolai Drevin, one of the richest men in the world. The eccentric billionaire has been targeted by Force Three, a group of eco-terrorists who claim his project Ark Angel—the first luxury hotel in outer space—is a danger to the environment. Soon Alex discovers that Force Three will stop at nothing to destroy Ark Angel, even if it means sending four hundred tons of molten glass and steel hurtling down to Earth and killing millions . . . unless Alex can stop them.  Continue reading

Looking for Alaska – John Green

99561Looking for Alaska by John Green

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: March 3rd, 2005
Publisher: Dutton BFYR
Recommended Age: 13+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Realistic Fiction, Boarding School, Carpe Diem, First Love, Mystery


BLURB:

Before. Miles “Pudge” Halter is done with his safe life at home. His whole life has been one big non-event, and his obsession with famous last words has only made him crave “the Great Perhaps” even more (Francois Rabelais, poet). He heads off to the sometimes crazy and anything-but-boring world of Culver Creek Boarding School, and his life becomes the opposite of safe. Because down the hall is Alaska Young. The gorgeous, clever, funny, sexy, self-destructive, screwed up, and utterly fascinating Alaska Young. She is an event unto herself. She pulls Pudge into her world, launches him into the Great Perhaps, and steals his heart. Then. . . .
After. Nothing is ever the same.
Continue reading

Heart and Brain: Body Language

34536961Heart and Brain: Body Language by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 3rd, 2017
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

From the New York Times bestselling creator of the hugely popular Awkward Yeti comics comes the third collection in his Heart and Brain series.

Heart and Brain: Body Language continues the adventures of the loveably conflicted sentimental Heart and rational Brain, as well as other bodily inhabitants like Gallbladder, Muscle, and Tongue.

 

Continue reading

Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts

29431094Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

Fans of Poorly Drawn Lines, Liz Climo, Randall Munroe, and The Oatmeal will love this riotous collection marking the return of optimistic Heart and analytical Brain with over 60 brand-new, never-before-seen comics.

Vigorously demanded and highly anticipated, Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts is the follow-up to the tremendously popular New York Times bestseller, Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection.

Continue reading