Heart and Brain: Body Language

34536961Heart and Brain: Body Language by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 3rd, 2017
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

From the New York Times bestselling creator of the hugely popular Awkward Yeti comics comes the third collection in his Heart and Brain series.

Heart and Brain: Body Language continues the adventures of the loveably conflicted sentimental Heart and rational Brain, as well as other bodily inhabitants like Gallbladder, Muscle, and Tongue.

 

Continue reading

Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts

29431094Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

Fans of Poorly Drawn Lines, Liz Climo, Randall Munroe, and The Oatmeal will love this riotous collection marking the return of optimistic Heart and analytical Brain with over 60 brand-new, never-before-seen comics.

Vigorously demanded and highly anticipated, Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts is the follow-up to the tremendously popular New York Times bestseller, Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection.

Continue reading

Instructions for a Secondhand Heart

instructions for a secondhand heartInstructions for a Secondhand Heart by Tamsyn Murray

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Hachette Book Group Canada
First Published: December 5th, 2017
Publisher: Poppy
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Fiction, Contemporary Romance, Grief, Family


BLURB:

Jonny knows better than anyone that life is full of cruel ironies. He’s spent every day in a hospital hooked up to machines to keep his heart ticking. Then when a donor match is found for Jonny’s heart, that turns out to be the cruelest irony of all. Because for Jonny’s life to finally start, someone else’s had to end.

That someone turns out to be Neve’s twin brother, Leo. When Leo was alive, all Neve wanted was for him (and all his glorious, overshadowing perfection) to leave. Now that Leo’s actually gone forever, Neve has no idea how to move forward. Then Jonny walks into her life looking for answers, her brother’s heart beating in his chest, and everything starts to change.
Continue reading

Something New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride

something newSomething New: Tales from a Makeshift Bride by Lucy Knisley

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: May 3rd, 2016
Publisher: First Second
Recommended Age: 14+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Graphic Memoir, Adult, Wedding, Family, Modern Life, Relationships


BLURB:

A funny and whip-smart new book about the institution of marriage in America told through the lens of her recent engagement and wedding…. The graphic novel tackles the all-too-common wedding issues that go along with being a modern woman: feminism, expectations, getting knocked over the head with gender stereotypes, family drama, and overall wedding chaos and confusion. Continue reading

Cici’s Journal: The Adventures of a Writer-In-Training

cici's journalCici’s Journal: The Adventures of a Writer-In-Training by Joris Chamblain

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: November 7th, 2017
Publisher: First Second
Recommended Age: 7+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Middle Grade, Mystery, Art, Friendship


BLURB:

Cici dreams of being a novelist. Her favorite subject: people, especially adults. She’s been watching them and taking notes. Everybody has one special secret, Cici figures, and if you want to write about people, you need to understand what’s hiding inside them. But now she’s discovered something truly strange: an old man who disappears into the forest every Sunday with huge pots of paint in all sorts of colors. What is he up to? Why does he look so sad when he comes back?
Continue reading

Fish Girl – Graphic Novel

fish girlFish Girl by Donna Jo Napoli

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: March 7th, 2017
Publisher: Clarion Books
Recommended Age: 10+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Middle Grade, Fantasy, Friendship, Abuse, Mermaids


BLURB:

Who is Fish Girl?
What is Fish Girl?

She lives in a tank in a boardwalk aquarium. She is the main attraction, though visitors never get more than a glimpse of her.

She has a tail. She can’t walk. She can’t speak.

But she can make friends with Livia, an ordinary girl, and yearn for a life that includes yoga and pizza. She can grow stronger and braver. With determination, a touch of magic, and the help of a loyal octopus, she can do anything. Continue reading

Louis Undercover – Fanny Britt

Groundwood Logos SpineLouis Undercover by Fanny Britt

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 1st, 2017
Publisher: Groundwood Books
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Graphic Novel, Family, Alcoholism, Love


BLURB:

Louis’s dad cries — Louis knows this because he spies on him. His dad misses the happy times when their family was together, just as Louis does. But as it is, he and his little brother, Truffle, have to travel back and forth between their dad’s country house and their mom’s city apartment, where she tries to hide her own tears.

When Louis and Truffle go to their dad’s for two weeks during the summer, their father seems to have stopped drinking. And when Truffle has a close call from a bee sting, their mother turns up and the reunited foursome spend several wonderful days in New York — until they reach the end of the road, again. Continue reading

The Big Bad Fox – Benjamin Renner

big bad foxThe Big Bad Fox by Benjamin Renner

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Raincoast Books
First Published: June 20th, 2017
Publisher: First Second
Recommended Age: 8+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Children’s, Graphic Novel, Animals, Humor, Family


BLURB:

The fox dreams of being the terror of the barnyard. But no one is intimidated by him, least of all the hens. When he picks a fight with one, he always ends up on the losing end. Even the wolf, the most fearsome beast of the forest, can’t teach him how to be a proper predator. It looks like the fox will have to spend the rest of his life eating turnips.

But then the wolf comes up with the perfect scheme. If the fox steals some eggs, he could hatch the chicks himself and raise them to be a plump, juicy chicken dinner. Unfortunately, this plan falls apart when three adorable chicks hatch and call the fox Mommy. Continue reading

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas – John Boyne

the boyThe Boy in the Striped Pajamas by John Boyne

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: 2006
Publisher: David Fickling Books
Recommended Age: 11+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: MG/YA, Historical Fiction, Holocaust, Friendship, Family


BLURB:

If you start to read this book, you will go on a journey with a nine-year-old boy named Bruno. (Though this isn’t a book for nine-year-olds.) And sooner or later you will arrive with Bruno at a fence.

Fences like this exist all over the world. We hope you never have to encounter one. Continue reading

Bluesman – Rob Vollmar

bluesmanBluesman by Rob Vollmar

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Distributor
First Published: August 1st, 2008
Publisher: NMB Publishing
Recommended Age: 14+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Music, Historical Fiction, Crime, Racism


BLURB:

Now collected into one stunning hardcover! This story, structured like a traditional twelve bar blues song, with three sections each made of four chapters, follows blues musician Lem Taylor’s harrowing journey across Arkansas of the late twenties, hunted for a crime he didn’t commit. Continue reading