Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts

29431094Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts by Nick Seluk

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: October 18th, 2016
Publisher: Andrews McMeel Publishing
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Graphic Novel, Humor, Modern Life, Life Lessons


BLURB:

Fans of Poorly Drawn Lines, Liz Climo, Randall Munroe, and The Oatmeal will love this riotous collection marking the return of optimistic Heart and analytical Brain with over 60 brand-new, never-before-seen comics.

Vigorously demanded and highly anticipated, Heart and Brain: Gut Instincts is the follow-up to the tremendously popular New York Times bestseller, Heart and Brain: An Awkward Yeti Collection.

hitormissbooksdaisies

Heart and Brain are back!

Though they never really left my mind. This duo is a perfect one. Not perfect in the sense that there isn’t a better duo than the two of them, but perfect in the sense that they are a fantastic match.

Heart is like a child, loving without questioning. Brain questions first and loves second. Every human being has a little bit of both in them. Sometimes we want to think with our hearts, and sometimes with our brains. There is a moment for each.

In this sequel are featured new characters that were not introduced in the first book: Eyes, Lungs, Teeth, Gut, Tongue, etc. Honestly, they just suddenly appeared, without having a formal introduction, as though they were always part of the story.

Hear and BrainThat’s okay, but it meant I wasn’t so familiar with them, even though we all have these organs in our bodies.

The reason why I can’t give this book five stars like I did to the first one is because there were certain scenes without Heart and Brain—and overall I felt like their presence decreased in importance.

But it’s still very, very enjoyable.

 

Follow me on:lolareviewer

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s