My (Not So) Perfect Life – Sophie Kinsella


30821598My Not So Perfect Life by Sophie Kinsella

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: February 7th, 2017
Publisher: The Dial Press
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 14+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Adult, Contemporary, Work Place, Family, Romance


BLURB:

Katie Brenner has the perfect life: a flat in London, a glamorous job, and a super-cool Instagram feed.

Ok, so the real truth is that she rents a tiny room with no space for a wardrobe, has a hideous commute to a lowly admin job, and the life she shares on Instagram isn’t really hers.

But one day her dreams are bound to come true, aren’t they?

Until her not-so perfect life comes crashing down when her mega-successful boss Demeter gives her the sack. All Katie’s hopes are shattered. She has to move home to Somerset, where she helps her dad with his new glamping business.

hitormissbooksdaisies

It’s no wonder Sophie Kinsella’s books are so widely acclaimed. She speaks of real contemporary issues in ways—usually with humour—that make the reader want to listen to what she says.

She doesn’t try to brainwash you. She’s not saying life is perfect, she’s saying it’s going to shit on you a good hundred times, and then maybe if you keep your head high… you might just be fine… probably.

Kinsella’s heroines all have the same voice. I do wonder if I’m the only one who’s picked up on that. That doesn’t mean they’re unoriginal. Kinsella’s women are witty and smart in surprising ways, but they’re all a little lost in life and charmingly innocent.

They’re also true working women who have ups and downs and with whom an important part of you will be able to connect. Katie is no exception. She’s a twenty-six-year-old trying to make it in this hard world.

Sadly, she realizes the guy she’s falling for will never go out with her. And she gets fired. And her roommates are the worst. And she’s short on money and can afford close to nothing at all.

But does she pity her own situation? Is she crying in a corner? I mean, there’s no time for that. If she isn’t back at her folks’ house soon, she won’t have a place to stay.

Katie is so great. I don’t say this often enough about the heroines I read about. I say they’re courageous, strong, heartfelt and determined… but I often forget to think to say the obvious. Katie is the sister you never had and Demeter is Meryl Streep wearing Prada on drugs. I loved the hell out of their interactions. How their relationship evolved fascinated me.

I bet you’re curious about the romance. There ALWAYS is romance in Sophie Kinsella’s books. But although Katie thinks about men—as she is currently single and a person with so much love to give—she wants to focus on her professional career first and I fully respect that. Don’t pressure her, coz she’s got a lot going on! Just be patient…

PS. The term ”Chick Lit” should really die. It’s disgusting and offensive to women who should not be referred to as ”chicks.” We’re not animals. And also, I’d quite love for men to read this book, I know my grandpa would have loved to, so really, it’s not just for women. Sorry to end the review on such a negative note, but this I had to say too. Katie would have as well…

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

3 thoughts on “My (Not So) Perfect Life – Sophie Kinsella

  1. Contemporary usually isn’t my thing, but I’ve been trying to read more of it lately, and I’ve been finding that I like the books that have a slightly older and more “realistic” feel to them. I think I might just give this one a try! Great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

