Warcross – Marie Lu


29385546Warcross by Marie Lu

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: September 12th, 2017
Publisher: Putnam BFYR
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Action, Competition


BLURB:

For the millions who log in every day, Warcross isn’t just a game—it’s a way of life. The obsession started ten years ago and its fan base now spans the globe, some eager to escape from reality and others hoping to make a profit. Struggling to make ends meet, teenage hacker Emika Chen works as a bounty hunter, tracking down players who bet on the game illegally. But the bounty hunting world is a competitive one, and survival has not been easy. Needing to make some quick cash, Emika takes a risk and hacks into the opening game of the international Warcross Championships—only to accidentally glitch herself into the action and become an overnight sensation.

hitormissbooksdaisies

Warcross is more than just a game. It’s an industry. It’s a way of life. It’s unlimited access at the future.

And for Emika, Warcross has recently become her saviour… and job.

I have to say, Marie Lu can truly write anything. Dystopian, fantasy or science fiction, it doesn’t matter, Marie Lu can do it all. I’m surprised she hasn’t written a contemporary book yet, though I admit her thing is action and complex worlds, so I’m glad she’s sticking to those departments.

WARCROSS is so unlike her previous works, and yet, I recognized her touch. It’s professionally-written, with a serious atmosphere, and a badass heroine you’ll root for.

Is it weird that I liked the main villain as much as Emika herself? He’s just the right type you love to hate. Even the love interest didn’t hold a candle to him.

Actually, there’s nothing I disliked about this book… except that I didn’t fall for the romance. It wasn’t rushed, but it was expected. Furthermore, a man in power falling for a woman in need of help does not do it for me.

Everything else, though, I savoured. I enjoyed reading about the Warcross game so badly I wanted to experience it myself. It does sound astounding. It’s funny because I’m not a gamer and I’ve never been into virtual reality or WoW-ish worlds.

But this game fascinated me, especially Emika’s role in it. The way she used the elements of the game to attempt to capture Zero showed intelligence and a curious mind.

The other players in Emika’s team should have been more developed. Their voices sounded true, but we know extremely little about them. Emika herself wasn’t so interested in her teammates, so that has to change… and I have a feeling it will.

Such a turn of events. I saw some of it coming, but mostly, a truck had run me over.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

5 thoughts on “Warcross – Marie Lu

  1. Excellent review! You really made me want to read Warcross–not that i needed a ton of convincing since, yes, Marie Lu is such a competent writer. Not flowery, just succinctly tells us the things that need to be said. I totally agree about the man in power and girl in need of help romance thing.

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Sunshine Book Award

Leave a Reply

