The Inquisitor’s Tale – Adam Gidwitz


29358517The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog by Adam Gidwitz

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
First Published: September 27th, 2016
Publisher: Dutton BFYR
Point of View: 3rd person mostly
Recommended Age: 9+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Middle Grade, Medieval, Religion, Adventure


BLURB:

1242. On a dark night, travelers from across France cross paths at an inn and begin to tell stories of three children. Their adventures take them on a chase through France: they are taken captive by knights, sit alongside a king, and save the land from a farting dragon. On the run to escape prejudice and persecution and save precious and holy texts from being burned, their quest drives them forward to a final showdown at Mont Saint-Michel, where all will come to question if these children can perform the miracles of saints.

hitormissbooksdaisies

This book asks to be read, not felt.

Every book should be felt, deserves to be felt. A storyteller would be nothing without the ability to hold the heart of everyone in their clutches. Telling a story is not enough, one must feel the story, writing, characters—everything.

I was very captivated in the beginning. The narration is original. A couple of people are gathered together and they each tell a snippet of the three magical children’s story, each completing the other’s tale.

How original does that sound? Plus the book is filled with cute drawings on almost every one of the pages. The appearance of this book is astounding, really. I know giving it a bad review means I won’t be keeping it, and this kills me, but one should not stay in a relationship with someone because of their physique alone.

The problem is that the three children have no effect on the reader. It’s unfortunate what happens to them, and it’s surprising how they get out of trouble, but it’s not sad and it’s not impressive. I feel more connected to the narrators than I do to the children.

Another problem—that won’t be a problem for everyone—was the religion. It was too present. You know, I’ve read The Passion of Dolssa, which is a medieval tale also about a Holy girl and people chasing her, and the religious content never bothered me. But here it’s just so annoyingly present. God is mentioned on every page. Too much for me.

On a side note, I can’t picture a kid reading this. It feels like it was written for adults to read to children. How is that good? DNF at page 180.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

One thought on “The Inquisitor’s Tale – Adam Gidwitz

  1. I study medieval literature, so I was interested in this book, but I thought it would appeal more to adults than kids. I haven’t actually seen a kid’s reaction yet, but I would be interested. I also didn’t feel invested in the characters, but the religion didn’t bother me. It’s pretty present in most, though not all, actual medieval literature, so I didn’t mark it as being abnormal or over the top.

    Like

Leave a Reply

