Eliza and Her Monsters – Francesca Zappia


31931941Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

My rating: 2.5 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Publication Date: May 30th, 2017
Publisher: HarperCollins
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Mental Illness, Contemporary Romance, Fandom

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

hitormissbooksdaisies

Unpopular opinion this way comes…

I don’t think it’s normal for a book to take one hundred read pages to finally enjoy it. I wasn’t interested in reading about the online community of Monstrous Sea lovers, because I’m not new to fandom and most of it was repetition of what we all already know.

I want to be moved by the emotional experiences. Unfortunately, this takes time with this book, because Eliza keeps everything in. She suffers from anxiety. She’s also very shy and isolates herself from her classmates. Honestly, I thought she was a boring character for at least half of the novel.

Surely, some people will connect to her – hell, part of me did. We all have a quieter, more shy and private side. But Eliza’s ‘‘real’’ life is so monotonous. Even SHE dislikes it. Her ‘‘online’’ life is more exciting, but I personally prefer reality over what the internet brings. It’s fine to have online friends, but I disbelieve that they should be your only friends. Eliza doesn’t even want to make real life friends.

Then she meets Wallace and it’s quite awkward between them and feels very online-ish too, what with him being unable to speak out loud and solely sharing his thoughts through writing. I’m a reader, so I love writing, but I prefer verbal communication anytime.

It got a lot better when Eliza started discussing her problems, or at least hinting at them, when more psychological themes surfaced. Don’t read this book if what to want is to admire the webcomic pictures, because there aren’t that many of them. The Monstrous Sea story is definitely incomplete – it’s more of a teaser than anything else.

All in all, it’s just too darn bad it took me so long to start enjoying it a little. I considered putting it aside a couple of times. The characters are great when they start opening up about themselves, but they never reach that point where they become extraordinary. The story is extremely underwhelming. I won’t ever reread Eliza and Her Monsters. I’m not that patient. It should have been condensed. No idea what the editor was thinking. Dull.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

3 thoughts on “Eliza and Her Monsters – Francesca Zappia

  1. It’s a bummer it took you so long to enjoy this book. I’m not sure it’s something I’d like (or be willing to keep reading through if I don’t like the beginning). Great review! ♥

    Like

  2. Oh wow. I’m so sorry that you didn’t like the book! I just started reading it last night. I’m about 77% through and I already love it. I’m a huge sucker for YA titles and I find Eliza to be such a relatable character – as bad as it may sound considering that she’s an introvert to the max.
    Wonderfully written review btw – very insightful.
    I look forward to reading more from you in the future… Happy Reading! 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

