The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane – Kate DiCamillo


37186The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane by Kate DiCamillo

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: February 14th, 2006
Publisher: Candlewick Press
Point of View: 3rd Person
Recommended Age: 8+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Children’s Books, Love

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Once, in a house on Egypt Street, there lived a china rabbit named Edward Tulane. The rabbit was very pleased with himself, and for good reason: he was owned by a girl named Abilene, who treated him with the utmost care and adored him completely.

And then, one day, he was lost.

hitormissbooksdaisies

I haven’t read a novel I absolutely loved from the very first sentence in a long time. I always say I have, probably because I want to believe that (and anyway, we all do it), but not every book is great and not every great book is exceptional. I want exceptional. Give me exceptional.

Kate DiCamillo’s The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane is just that. It tells the story of little china bunny Edward Tulane who knows not what love means. He is loved by a little girl, and yet, he doesn’t care. He’s self-centered and vain. But little Edward Tulane will discover what love means the way we all do: through loss… through life.

The writing is simply delightfully lyrical. Is lyrical writing always delightful? Not quite, sometimes it doesn’t work. One must master the technique fairly well to pull it off. I used to think children’s books were so, so easy to write (‘‘anyone could write them!’’) but now that I’ve read a hundred of them and more, I realize that is not the case. Otherwise they would all be bestsellers.

This is, without a single, lonely doubt, my most favourite Kate DiCamillo book. It’s also the one with the highest ratings on Goodreads, so I’m happy to see other people were positively, beautifully affected by this novel like I was. I think Kate DiCamillo can do no wrong, but she really surpassed herself with this one.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

4 thoughts on “The Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane – Kate DiCamillo

  1. This is so nostalgic for me because I remember my 3rd grade teacher reading this to my class! I remember loving the book and I don’t know why I haven’t done a reread yet! Just like the Percy Jackson series… Maybe that’ll be my summer project, to reread all my old favorites. In any case, I’m so glad you loved it just as much as I did, Lola!

    Laura @BlueEyeBooks

    Like

Leave a Reply

