Spill Zone – Scott Westerfeld


23532871Spill Zone by Scott Westerfeld

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2017
Publisher: First Second Books
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Graphic Novel

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Nobody’s ever really explained the Spill. Was it an angelic visitation? A nanotech accident? A porthole opening from another world? Whatever it was, no one’s allowed in the Spill Zone these days except government scientists and hazmat teams. But a few intrepid explorers know how to sneak through the patrols and steer clear of the dangers inside the Zone. Addison Merrick is one such explorer, dedicated to finding out what happened that night, and to unraveling the events that took her parents and left her little sister mute and disconnected from the world.

hitormissbooksdaisies

This was my first Scott Westerfeld book. I always did mean to read his UGLIES series, but I dread the amount of superficiality I think it contains.

SPILL ZONE should not work. If someone had told me the story, I’d be like, ‘‘Uh, that’s all?’’ Because it’s true that not much happens. But what does happen is pretty fascinating.

So there’s this city that is referred to as the Spill Zone. No one knows where the spill came from, but it did emit radiation. So now there are strange things happening in the Zone.

Addison takes pictures in the Spill Zone that bring her money she uses to support her little sister who was affected by the Spill three years ago. When someone approaches her with a million dollars for an item inside a house in the Zone, she accepts.

See, it’s really not that convoluted. I actually think that’s a positive thing, because otherwise I would have had trouble understanding what’s happening. I was confused in the beginning, but only for a few pages.

spillzone_interior-129

The author and artist did a good job of making it clear for the reader what’s happening at any given time. I liked that I knew just as much as Addison did.

I also liked the creepier side of the book. In the Spill Zone, there are weird, unnatural creatures and zombielike people. And there’s this strange, talking doll Addison’s sister can’t go without.

I wasn’t sure about the art at first, because it’s not what I’d usually go for, but it works with the atmosphere of the novel, and by the end, I honestly came to enjoy it.

There’s a lot of action, which kind of goes against what I was saying in the beginning about not much happening, but the thing is the scenes are very stretched out. I didn’t mind it.

I just hope the author and artist won’t make this a twelve-book+ series just because they can. I feel like that’s what’s going to happen. Hopefully I’m wrong, because so far I know only superficial info about the Spill Zone and I want to know everything!

Eagerly awaiting the next book.

lolareviewerFollow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

Leave a Reply

