Mosquitoland – David Arnold


18718848Mosquitoland by David Arnold

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: March 3rd, 2015
Publisher: Viking Children’s
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.

hitormissbooksdaisies

This was my second attempt to read this book. The first time I only got to page fifty before giving up. But this time around, I made it to page one hundred sixty.

Not bad. I might finish it someday.

But I doubt that, because I don’t want to. I tried again, because there seems to be a lot of excitement surrounding this title and the author himself.

I don’t know why. It’s so boring I’ve forced myself to read ten pages a day for the last two weeks. You know a book is dull when you plan the amount of pages to read each day.

This novel is about Mim, whose mother is sick, so she travels eight hundred miles to see her. But it’s not about the destination; it’s about the journey.

Along the way, she meets lovely, strange, creepy and forgettable people. She’s even in a bus crash, like was that really necessary? Her friend dies, like was that really necessary? She falls for some guy and finds herself in a dangerous situation, like was that really necessary?

A man tries to get into her pants and she decides not to report him, because she knows it’ll ruin her chances of seeing her mother. Her father and step-mother don’t know where she is but a call from the police will surely change that.

I didn’t like this book at all. The writing isn’t bad. The cover is pretty – I love it. But what an unrealistic contemporary fiction book. Mim herself has some mental issues, of what I gathered, so perhaps some of what happens is in her head – I don’t know; I don’t care to know – but that doesn’t excuse the crazy situations she sometimes puts herself in, sometimes finds herself in.

I just realized that sounded really mean and judgemental. But I don’t always understand Mim and her choices. I doubt she understands them herself.

This isn’t a book I’d recommend. I did try and I did get farther than I did the first time around, but I didn’t enjoy it more. I just tend to read more pages of books in physical copy versus digital copy.

Should I read the ending? Is it any surprising? Bah, forget it. Like I will this book.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

3 thoughts on “Mosquitoland – David Arnold

  1. I actually really enjoyed this book – but I think I enjoyed the writing more than the plot/characters. I just thought the writing was funny and entertaining, but its been awhile so I don’t remember. My friend just finished it and didn’t love it or hate it, but another friend is reading it too and seems to be bored by it too. If you ever feel like you want to finish the ending, I say go for it, but I don’t think you’re missing much by skipping it. Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

