The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson


6604794The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: March 9th, 2010
Publisher: Dial Books
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Romance, Grief, Music

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Seventeen-year-old Lennie Walker, bookworm and band geek, plays second clarinet and spends her time tucked safely and happily in the shadow of her fiery older sister, Bailey. But when Bailey dies abruptly, Lennie is catapulted to center stage of her own life – and, despite her nonexistent history with boys, suddenly finds herself struggling to balance two. Toby was Bailey’s boyfriend; his grief mirrors Lennie’s own. Joe is the new boy in town, a transplant from Paris whose nearly magical grin is matched only by his musical talent. For Lennie, they’re the sun and the moon; one boy takes her out of her sorrow, the other comforts her in it. But just like their celestial counterparts, they can’t collide without the whole wide world exploding.

hitormissbooksdaisies

There’s something about Jandy Nelson’s writing. I can name dozens of incredible writers off the top of my head, but Jandy Nelson is not only talented; she is original. She uses original figures of style and moves you in ways you didn’t expect.

Granted, you must be patient when you read her books, because she is the type to use more words than necessary in any given context. She loves describing scenes, characters and especially feelings, making THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE so very lyrical.

Normally, I don’t welcome love-triangles in my reads. Often, they are quite annoying and lead to cheating, which I despise. But Lennie went through so much – she lost her sister to whom she gave all her love – and so I understood how empty and confused that made her. She’s fragile and has yet to understand why this has happened to someone so good. She needs someone to help her see through this fog.

Because the author spends so much time describing elements, I felt well acquainted with the characters surprisingly fast. The people surrounding Lennie have unique personalities and a role to play in the story. Lennie’s Gram is especially interesting, what with Lennie’s mother’s disappearance a long time ago and Gram’s weird behaviour when it comes to discussing it.

I’m used to admiring writing styles and feeling enthralled when I read a book, but I’m not that used to actually, literally feeling something in my stomach when I read a romantic scene. That very rarely happens. Luckily, it’s not a requirement for me to love a book, but when it does happen, I am always impressed. It’s a sign I will never forget a book. THE SKY IS EVERYWHERE, you are unforgettable.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

One thought on “The Sky Is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson

  1. I’ve actually recently read this one. I really liked how well Nelson dealt with the theme of grief and you’re so right – her writing style is so very lyrical. It was beautiful, and I loved all the quirky characters. But I really didn’t feel for Toby’s character at all, and I feel like her reason for cheating “them just being drawn to each other” was kind of a pathetic excuse, which kind of soured the read for me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

