Lucky in Love by Kasie West


30285562Lucky in Love by Kasie West

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: July 25th, 2017
Publisher: Point
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 11+
Pacing: Very fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary Romance, Money

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Maddie doesn’t believe in luck. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment —  She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun… until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now, Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

hitormissbooksdaisies

Every time the lovely Kasie West releases a new book, I love life a little more.

I may not grade her novels as highly as I probably should, given the wonderful time I spend with (almost) each and every one of them, but think of this rating as a strong three stars.

It’s no wonder her books are considered perfect reads for readers who are ‘‘reluctant.’’ Her works are indeed so fast-paced, you’ll feel compelled to read them in one sitting. The only thing that will stop you is your innate need to sleep.

So I do dare suggest you start this very early so no dilemma (stay awake, sleep?) presents itself to you. These book-related dilemmas are the worst.

If you are familiar with Kasie West’s style, you already know LUCKY IN LOVE is quick, light and cute.

I’m so glad I don’t have to write ‘‘cliché’’ this time. In every one of her previous contemporary YA novels, I was able to pinpoint clichés two chapters in. Not this time. There is the ‘‘friends to lovers’’ situation, but the way it’s developed makes it look very natural.

Seth is definitely more adorable than any other book boyfriend the author breathed life into. Also, he’s Asian! Thank you for making your books a tiny bit more diverse, Kasie. Much appreciated.

*Sidebar*

About Seth, I understand his annoyance at being constantly asked where he *really* comes from, especially since he was born in America, but you know a lot of people aren’t aware of the effect that that question has on all people who do not look like the American type. No one ever told them it bothered them to be asked that before, so how could they possibly know? Maybe you should do that, Seth, instead of mentally cursing them. But if you want to avoid situations that can *maybe* turn into confrontations at all costs, then just shrug it off. I, myself, ask that question from time to time. I’m curious, and no one ever told me it bothered them. Does that make me ignorant, or just someone who likes to learn about other people’s ancestries?

*End sidebar*

Since Maddie is a little naïve, she’s manipulated into spending her money – well, giving her money away, basically – quite a few times. While it is, at times, frustrating, it helps Maddie grow into someone more responsible and aware of how the world works. Thirty million dollars is a lot, lot, lot of money.

I predicted most of what happens in this novel, so I wouldn’t say you’ll be blown away by anything, really, but you will be entertained for sure. Happy reading.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “Lucky in Love by Kasie West

  1. I love Kasie West! I just bought one of her books that’s on sale. It’s been too long since I’ve read one of her stories, so I’m looking forward to it.

    This one sounds cute. I don’t know if I’ve read a YA where the main character has loads of money before.

    Like

  2. I’m glad to know that, even though there were a couple of moments where you had to hold your breath, you still liked it in the end. 🙂 It’s also good to know that the main character redeemed herself at the end and was less naive so to speak. 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: Lucky In Love by Kasie West | Book Review | Good Books & Good Wine

Leave a Reply

