Review: I Am Malala (Young Readers Edition)


19161872I Am Malala: How One Girl Stood Up for Education and Changed the World by Malala Yousafzai

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Hachette Book Group
Publication Date: August 19th, 2014
Publisher: Little, Brown BFYR
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 11+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Nonfiction, Memoir, Education, Women’s Rights, Religion

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Malala Yousafzai was only ten years old when the Taliban took control of her region. They said music was a crime. They said women weren’t allowed to go to the market. They said girls couldn’t go to school.

Raised in a once-peaceful area of Pakistan transformed by terrorism, Malala was taught to stand up for what she believes. So she fought for her right to be educated. And on October 9, 2012, she nearly lost her life for the cause: She was shot point-blank while riding the bus on her way home from school.

Now she is an international symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest- ever Nobel Peace Prize nominee. In this Young Readers Edition of her bestselling memoir, which includes excessive photos and material, we hear firsthand the remarkable story of a girl who knew from a young age that she wanted to change the world-and did.

hitormissbooksdaisies

Malala refused to believe girls should be denied an education. Why should girls not be allowed to attend school? It’s their right.

So Malala spoke in favour of educating girls during a time when it was very dangerous to do so. But Malala was not afraid; she was determined.

This is more than a simple memoir. Malala doesn’t just talk about herself—her past, her present and her future. She talks about what is around her; the world that surrounds her, and she points out what is right and what is wrong about it, especially regarding women’s rights.

It’s very inspirational and filled with cultural elements. I always knew education was important, because without education, there is little chance of a good future in the majority of places. Yet I never felt *how* important education was before I read this.

Every time I think of my future, I think, ‘‘Oh god, another five years and a half of school to go before my life can really begin.’’ But that is so wrong. Because, if I need a diploma to tell me my life can start, does that mean I am presently not truly living? So from now on, I’m going to stop thinking like that and appreciate the fact that I can go to boring classes millions of people would sell an arm to be able to attend.

Malala is a real girl. She doesn’t put on a show for us. She remains true to herself through everything, even after atrocious events have occurred—from the moment she starts to attend school to the day she wakes up in a hospital after being shot in the head by the Taliban.

Religion is ever-present in this book, so if you cannot stand that, I suggest you do not read this book or, if you do, be respectful to Malala who is clearly a very religious person.

lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

6 thoughts on “Review: I Am Malala (Young Readers Edition)

  1. I read the original book, which I loved, and I’m not sure how different it is from this “Young Readers Edition”. Do you know what changed? The original was perfect for young readers as it was. Malala herself has very young when she wrote it and it’s a tale and a truth everyone needs to read, unadultered. I’m a little confused with this new trend of young editions (well, new for me, I hadn’t noticed it before).
    I’m glad to see you enjoyed it, too 🙂

    Like

  2. I felt the exact same thing after I read this! It’s interesting how we don’t realise how valuable something is before we see what it would be like to go without it. Malala is so inspiring!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Ten Interesting Posts of the Week (12/11/16) – Pages Unbound

Leave a Reply

