Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake


27827203Frostblood by Elly Blake

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: Hachette Book Group Canada
Publication Date: January 17th, 2017
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 11+
Pacing: Normal
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Fantasy, Revenge, Powers

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Seventeen-year-old Ruby is a fireblood who must hide her powers of heat and flame from the cruel frostblood ruling class that wants to destroy all that are left of her kind. So when her mother is killed for protecting her and rebel frostbloods demand her help to kill their rampaging king, she agrees. But Ruby’s powers are unpredictable, and she’s not sure she’s willing to let the rebels and an infuriating (yet irresistible) young man called Arcus use her as their weapon.

All she wants is revenge, but before they can take action, Ruby is captured and forced to take part in the king’s tournaments that pit fireblood prisoners against frostblood champions. Now she has only one chance to destroy the maniacal ruler who has taken everything from her and from the icy young man she has come to love.

hitormissbooksdaisies

Reading ‘‘Frostblood’’ was a lot like reading ‘‘Storm Siren’’ for me, in terms of experience.

And I’m not only referring to the fact that both struggled to hold my interest. The characters in them have powers similar to Elsa’s from ‘‘Frozen,’’ especially Ruby who very much wants to be the new Elsa.

Indeed, the real problem is that those powers may be impressive – I mean, come on, who associates power with trash? No one – but they’re not entertaining to read about. Maybe on TV, this story would have engaged my interest a little more, but on paper the powers are not in 3-D, if you follow me.

Plus, really, how many times have you heard this premise: hero/heroine is wronged by royally, therefore, he/she concocts a plan to kill or overthrown them? And that’s all they can think about: revenge.

Do I see some hands rising?

Nothing new. I’m actually feeling a bit unpatriotic right now, seeing that Elly Blake is Canadian and we all know that most books are written by American authors, so I felt quite proud of this lady for publishing a fantasy novel that seemed absolutely stupendous.

But it’s not impressive, sadly. Even the writing has nothing new to offer. And I just really dislike how the blurb makes this big fuss about a certain ‘‘competition’’ between frostbloods and firebloods because, as you’ll see if you end up reading the book, it really isn’t a huge scene in the story.

And the romance, bleh bleh bleh. I’m trying here… to find something positive to say about this book, and maybe the only thing I could say about it, something that can be said about most YA fantasy novels, is that this MAY appeal to you, if you have little to no experience with these types of novels. Sounds familiar? I must have mentioned this in dozens of my other negative reviews of YA fantasy novels.

I’ll just watch Frozen now. If ‘‘Frostblood’’ is good for something, it’s to give you the irresistible need to play that movie.
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

2 thoughts on “Review: Frostblood by Elly Blake

  1. Yikes! Sorry you really didn’t care for this one. It’s one of my most anticipated so I’m sure I’ll still give it a try. I hope your next read is WAYYYY better for you. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

