Review: Nightmare Escape by Greg Grunberg & Lucas Turnbloom


278829301Nightmare Escape by Greg Grunberg

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: Scholastic Canada
Publication Date: June 28th, 2016
Publisher: Graphix
Point of View: Masculine
Recommended Age: 9+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Middle Grade, Graphic Novel, Fantasy

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Ben has a problem. When he sleeps he dreams, and when he dreams, they’re all nightmares! But he can also jump into other people’s dreams. So when his friends start falling victim to an evil dream-monster that prevents them from waking, Ben knows he has to help them. Easier said than done when dreams can shift and the monster knows his way around the ever-changing landscape of the mind! With help from a talking rabbit-companion who has a mysterious past, Ben might just be able to defeat the monster and save his friends . . . if he can figure out how to use the power within him against his enemies.

hitormissbooksdaisies

This book is very… random.

I don’t remember the last time I gave a one-star-rating to a graphic novel. For 99% percent of the time, they’re such short/fast reads that even if they’re not amazing exactly, they’re not long to read, and so, not synonym of nightmare.

But I’m struggling to find anything redeemable about this.

I didn’t like the graphics, and that’s super important seeing that this is a GRAPHIC novel. Not my style at all. The backgrounds are very bleak, as in there isn’t much else drawn except for the characters.

And those colors. Digital ones. I’d choose watercolours anytime, if they all looked like the ones in this book.

I usually don’t mind being thrown directly into the action upon starting a book, but it’s such a cliché for stories to start with nightmares. Such a cliché. (And I’ve got to admit that the idea of dream jumpers isn’t anything new either.)

What I find so random about this, because I have no idea where it comes from is, 1) the magic, 2) the creatures, 3) the villain, 4) the dream jumping, 5) the psychotic doctors (falls under creatures, I guess) 6) the creatures, the creatures, the creatures, the creatures. Oh and the animal-morphing.

They didn’t make any sense! Normally a world has a type – animals, fantastical creatures, weird humanoids, supernatural beings etc. but there was every weird thing you could possibly imagine in this!

SO RANDOM.
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

4 thoughts on “Review: Nightmare Escape by Greg Grunberg & Lucas Turnbloom

  1. I’m sorry to hear you didn’t like it. (I also didn’t like the cover at first glance.)
    But if I may, I would like to recommend to you classical mangas. I don’t know if you’re up for it, but I suggest you check them out if you’re searching for worthwhile graphic novels. And UDON Entertainment provides a lot of good ones. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Book Reviews 10-2-16 | SVM & TB Stories

Leave a Reply

