Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky


25184383Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Scholastic Canada
Publication Date: February 23rd, 2016
Publisher: Point
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, Humor, Celebrity

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near them. That’s why we got a room in the hotel where they were staying.

We were not planning to kidnap one of them. Especially not the most useless one. But we had him—his room key, his cell phone, and his secrets.

We were not planning on what happened next.

We swear.

From thrilling new talent Goldy Moldavsky comes a pitch-black, hilarious take on fandom and the badass girls who have the power to make—or break—the people we call “celebrities.”

hitormissbooksdaisies

Holy c… What an adventure.

I don’t know if I should laugh, roll my eyes or give this book the award of the most comedic, addictive story I’ve read this year.

Let’s rewind. I should definitely laugh at all the craziness and ridiculousness in this book, roll my eyes at all the Ruperts fans – especially the four heroines – and I should definitely award this book with something, because

THAT WAS SO MUCH FUN.

How far would you go to approach celebrities you admire/worship/can’t stop thinking about/love with all your fangirl heart?

Would you kidnap them? One day with a star, would you say no? It really wasn’t supposed to go like this for the Four Fangirls (I’m going to refer to them this way, it’s easier). All they wanted was to attend the Ruperts’ new show! And maybe catch a glimpse of them by booking a room at their hotel.

Not kidnap the ugliest, less talented, most forgettable of the Ruperts.

It sounds a bit ridiculous, doesn’t it? But then again, isn’t that the point? Far-fetched-sounding stories are not always bad. A story like this one, with many WTF-worthy scenes is my idea of spending a fun afternoon.

A many readers find this book offensive, especially to fangirls all over the world. I don’t consider myself as being a fangirl, though I know I AM one when it comes to Damen & Laurent and Alec & Magnus. But I can’t bring myself to fangirl over real life celebrities. I used to be super fan of Miley Cyrus and Selena Gomez when I was 13, but that was a long time ago and, quite frankly, I do agree with what ‘‘Civil War Bartender’’ said. It was indeed just a phase for me.

Maybe this is why I didn’t find this offensive? The author clearly did not mean to offend anyone, although some characters are definitely jackasses when it comes to the subject of being a fan or having them.

But I do think that fangirls and fanboys are needed in this world. Without them, concerts would be rather boring.

On that note, the Four Fangirls are pretty cray-cray and I’m kind of scared for their next victim. Haha.
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

8 thoughts on “Review: Kill the Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

  1. I am shocked that you liked it so much. I had the opposite experience with this book my problem with it I supposed was the unrealistic element of it all. My rating for this book was very low. So this makes me wonder if my paradigm was wrong when I read the book. Oh well, we can’t all like the same book. Your review was smooth and easy to read as always.

    Like

  2. No way! You too?! I was such a huge fan of Miley Cyrus, Selena Gomez, and Demi Lovato when I was 12 or so. It was just a phase for me too, but I still smile when I remember that time.
    These days, I’m only a fangirl for fictional characters (:

    So after reading this review, I got really curious about this book.
    I heard about it before but didn’t think it was for me until now…
    Hmm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

