Review: The Singing Bones by Shaun Tan


29241350The Singing Bones by Shaun Tan

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Scholastic Canada
Publication Date: October 11th, 2016
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books
Point of View: 3rd Person
Recommended Age: All
Pacing: Super Fast
Genres & Themes: Art, Fantasy, Fairy Tales

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Wicked stepmothers, traitorous brothers, cunning foxes, lonely princesses: There is no mistaking the world of the Brothers Grimm and the beloved fairy tales that have captured generations of readers. Now internationally acclaimed artist Shaun Tan shows us the beautiful, terrifying, amusing, and downright peculiar heart of these tales as never before seen.

With a foreword by Neil Gaiman and an introduction by renowned fairy-tale expert Jack Zipes, this stunning gallery of sculptural works will thrill and delight art lovers and fairy-tale aficionados alike.

hitormissbooksdaisies

I found Shaun Tan’s THE ARRIVAL fascinating so, obviously, I couldn’t drive by this beauty without picking it up along the way.

Thank goodness I did. Woah, What a book.

So this isn’t a novel. Or a graphic novel. Or a collection of poems. Or a compilation of short stories. Or anything you may think, really.

On one page there is an excerpt from one of the Brothers Grimm fairy tales and on the next one an image of a sculpture Shaun Tan made.

And let me tell you they are INCREDIBLE. Worthy of being put in a museum for everyone to admire. And I’m not even exaggerating. I wish this book could come with one of them, because I really, really want one to keep.

Shaun Tan is more of an artist than an author of literature, which is fine by me. Everyone has their style and Tan’s is a unique one. I seriously think I’ll forever be super curious about what he will come up with next.

His works are powerful and touching and meaningful and so, so memorable. I don’t even need to be told to stay tuned. That’s my constant state when it comes to Shaun Tan.

One cannot finish THE SINGING BONES and forget about it the next day. No-no. *pouting* I want a sculpture. Pretty please?

description
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

7 thoughts on “Review: The Singing Bones by Shaun Tan

Leave a Reply

