Review: Flying (Flying #1) by Carrie Jones


26114232Flying by Carrie Jones

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: July 19th 2016
Publisher: Tor Teen
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Aliens, (Bad) Romance, Family

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

People have always treated seventeen-year-old Mana as someone in need of protection. She’s used to being coddled, being an only child, but it’s hard to imagine anything could ever happen in her small-town, normal life. As her mother’s babying gets more stifling than ever, she’s looking forward to cheering at the big game and getting out of the house for a while.

But that night, Mana’s life goes haywire.

First, the hot guy she’s been crushing on at school randomly flips out and starts spitting acid during the game. Then they get into a knockdown, drag-out fight in the locker room, during which Mana finds herself leaping around like a kangaroo on steroids. As a flyer on the cheerleading squad, she’s always been a good jumper, but this is a bit much. By the time she gets home and finds her house trashed and an alien in the garage, Mana starts to wonder if her mother had her reasons for being overprotective.

It turns out, Mana’s frumpy, timid mom is actually an alien hunter, and now she’s missing–taking a piece of technology with her that everyone wants their hands on, both human and alien.

hitormissbooksdaisies

To my regret, ‘‘Flying’’ has nothing to do with cheerleading. Sure, the main character and her best girl friend are cheerleaders, and therefore, they do acrobatic stunts, but that’s pretty much where the link ends.

At some point, I thought I would give it a 3-star-rating, because it’s indeed fun in the beginning, but the more the story progresses, the more it becomes ridiculous and far-fetched.

It may be a fictive science fiction story featuring aliens, and so, the story is bound to not be fully realistic from the beginning, but the way Carrie Jones wrote it immediately made me realize that this was never meant to be taken seriously at all.

The problem here is that the humour just isn’t my type. It didn’t make me smile and it definitely didn’t make me laugh. Since it wasn’t written to shock or impress with incredible dept, it really relies on the humour and action. To me it felt like the ridiculousness tried to make up for something—probably the lack of good humour.

Even though the story is eye roll-worthy all the way, the main character is relatively likeable. I liked her bluntness and how quirkily she acted. She was entertaining, not the events and not the other characters.

Now that I think about it, I read Need and Captive by this same author when I was way younger, and I gave those two books 2 stars as well. So I can conclude that this author just doesn’t work for me. Goodbye, dear author (?).
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

5 thoughts on “Review: Flying (Flying #1) by Carrie Jones

  1. I can see how this would be a little far-fetched. Just from reading the blurb, I’m a little overwhelmed. I feel like there are plots for 3 different books in this one novel! I’m glad you found something that was enjoyable though. It’s rather annoying to read a book and not like anything about it at all. Lovely review, Lola!

    Like

Leave a Reply

