Review: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover


27362503It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: August 2nd, 2016
Publisher: Atria Books
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 16+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: New Adult, Abuse, Contemporary, Romance, Family

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up—she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily. And the way he looks in scrubs certainly doesn’t hurt. Lily can’t get him out of her head. But Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing. Even as Lily finds herself becoming the exception to his “no dating” rule, she can’t help but wonder what made him that way in the first place.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan—her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

hitormissbooksdaisies

I did not see that coming.

Which I think is the whole point.

Ever since I was fifteen, I promised myself I would never get into a relationship with someone before I knew what they looked like angry. Are they the type to grow exasperated and leave the room, shout their lungs out or… aggressively hit their loved ones?

I’m very happy with the way Colleen Hoover dealt with the subject of abuse. It’s very well explored and the connection between Lily and her mother so beautiful yet so sad. But mostly beautiful because of how well they end up understanding one another.

To be completely honest, I wanted to stay way away from this book. The last CoHo books I had read – UGLY LOVE and NOVEMBER 9 – annoyed me with their cheesy lines and insta-love-dovey. But this… this is something else entirely.

I loved how it follows Lily for several years and how we even get access to her past. It not only made her character much more three-dimensional—real, but it also showed sides of her we otherwise would never have seen. She is so strong and wise. So motivated and ambitious. So good and compassionate. I loved her. And truth be told, I want to be her.

I think this book has truly renewed my faith in Colleen Hoover. I almost gave up on reading her books for ever, but then impulsion struck me and I succumbed to this one as well. Very glad I did. I hope you will, too. It’s worth it.

PS. The title is one of the most well thought of that exist. When the author used the sentence in her novel, all kinds of emotions welled up inside me.
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

16 thoughts on “Review: It Ends with Us by Colleen Hoover

  1. I can’t bring myself to read this book.
    As much as I love Colleen Hoover… I just can’t.
    Why? *way too many feels*.
    I know, it sounds weird, but Colleen Hoover books are sometimes… way too heavy on me that I can’t even breath and I feel like I’m dying inside.
    And while I love it when books make me really *feel*, sometimes it’s way too much.
    I’ll always love Colleen Hoover. Her writing, her characters… they are just oh so real and beautiful and hearbreaking. But whether I’ll be able to bring myself to finish them… that’s the real question.
    Nontheless, great non-spoilers review, Lola. I’m glad to hear this book has restored your faith in Colleen Hoover (:

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read any CoHo yet, mostly because I have heard her books were hit or miss, no grey area admitted! I do like the sound of this one, and I am glad it does not involve insta-love!

    Like

  3. I’m very excited to read this one! My friend attended the book tour and got me a signed copy and it has been sitting on my shelf taunting me ever since! I love when authors use the title in a line in the book, it makes my heart happy 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

