Review: Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris


26050845Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: NetGalley
Publication Date: February 11th 2016
Publisher: MIRA
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 15+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Adult, Contemporary, Psychological Thriller, Suspense

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

The 2016 debut bloggers can’t stop raving about. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace.

He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. Though, you’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie.

hitormissbooksdaisies

Behind Closed Doors is terribly frightening.

Especially since it’s not far-fetched. It’s realistic in a scary, can’t-fall-in-love-blindly-anymore and I-need-to-scrutinize-my-boyfriend kind of way.

It’s terrifying because it’s a story that could happen to anyone. Even the most vigilant of human beings can be duped by a genuine smile and gentlemanly gestures.

I stayed up all night to finish this book, which shows how determined I was to see how everything would play out in the end for Grace and ‘‘Jackass’’ Jack.

This isn’t the sort of thriller I’m used to reading. Though it’s somewhat action-driven, it has a creepily calm atmosphere that is meant to deceive the reader in the beginning. However, as the story progresses and more is revealed to us, it doesn’t bother to lull us into the web of lies and make-believe that is Grace and ‘‘Jackass’’ Jack’s marriage anymore.

No, the narration becomes all about Grace trying to escape her fate. About her doing everything in her means to prevail at this game of life and death she never wanted any part of.

I’m used to something more intense, more dramatic… less quiet. And perhaps that’s why Behind Closed Doors affected me in such a way. Sometimes ‘‘intense’’ and ‘‘dramatic’’ can lead to unbelievable. But quiet, pretence, being so close to freedom – almost smelling it – but having it denied and trying to freeze the days for the impending death day never to happen…. that’s… that’s scary.

Well, I think I will take a little hiatus from reading more books of this genre. I can’t hide that I’m a bit shaken right now and will need time to reshape my mind into going back to thinking that life is beautiful.

That was an amazing, emotional ending. It almost gave me a heart attack, but oh well.
lolareviewer

Follow me on:

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

Advertisements

12 thoughts on “Review: Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

  1. The Girl on the Train didn’t live upto the hype according to me but I still enjoyed reading it. And this book seems like the perfect night read if you don’t feel like sleeping. Interesting and nice review 🙂

    Like

  2. Oh my goodness the blurb is so creepy. I’m scared already. I won’t be reading this but great review!

    Like

  3. aaahhh, another psychological-thriller!! Reading “not far-fetched” + “creepily calm atmosphere” made me just more excited to read this! Great review, Lola 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Book Sale: Behind Closed Doors – How Useful It Is

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s