Review: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (Harry Potter, #8) by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne

626F6F78747265616D=7474747474727576707<7473Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: July 31st, 2016
Publisher: Little Brown UK
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 11+
Pacing: Fast
Genres & Themes: Middle Grade, Fantasy, Plays, Adventure, Family, Magic

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

Based on an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, a new play by Jack Thorne, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth story in the Harry Potter series and the first official Harry Potter story to be presented on stage. The play will receive its world premiere in London’s West End on July 30, 2016.

It was always difficult being Harry Potter and it isn’t much easier now that he is an overworked employee of the Ministry of Magic, a husband and father of three school-age children.

While Harry grapples with a past that refuses to stay where it belongs, his youngest son Albus must struggle with the weight of a family legacy he never wanted. As past and present fuse ominously, both father and son learn the uncomfortable truth: sometimes, darkness comes from unexpected places. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

26050845Behind Closed Doors by B.A. Paris

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: NetGalley
Publication Date: February 11th 2016
Publisher: MIRA
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 15+
Pacing: Slow
Genres & Themes: Adult, Contemporary, Psychological Thriller, Suspense

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide


BLURB:

The 2016 debut bloggers can’t stop raving about. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and The Ice Twins

Everyone knows a couple like Jack and Grace.

He has looks and wealth, she has charm and elegance. You might not want to like them, but you do. Though, you’d like to get to know Grace better.

But it’s difficult, because you realise Jack and Grace are never apart.

Some might call this true love. Others might ask why Grace never answers the phone. Or how she can never meet for coffee, even though she doesn’t work. How she can cook such elaborate meals but remain so slim. And why there are bars on one of the bedroom windows.

Sometimes, the perfect marriage is the perfect lie. Continue reading