Best Books of 2016 (So Far)


bestbooksof2016sofar

Top 6 Books of 2016 (So Far)

Dear readers, we’re halfway through 2016 (and more), so I thought I’d break down my favorite books of the year so far. I rarely read adult, so my list does mainly contain YA novels, but that doesn’t mean I have read them all. In fact, I only read 54 2016 pblications so far this year. Regardless, here is the much awaited list. (All links lead to reviews.)


22840421 6. My Lady Jane4 stars

I had so much fun reading this hilarious (in a clever way) book. I’m normally not one for historical fiction, but the fantasy elements in it made me adore it, and honestly, I just didn’t want it to end. I hope these authors decide to write something together again, because they make one hell of a team.


5. The Forbidden Wish4 1/2 starsForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

I’m one die-hard sucker for fairytale retellings and this Aladdin retelling is nothing short of a marvellous, magical story involving a charmingly reckless thief and a fabulously snarky jinni. But the characters are not the only thing that makes this book. The world-building is also incredibly-crafted… READ IT NOW.


268698494. Winning 5 stars

You have no idea how happy I am to have a Young Adult LGBT-themed book make this list. Of course, it’s not the only thing the story is focused on, but it’s a pretty important part of it and it’s so beautifully developed. This story is one amazingly entertaining and addictive one. It’s Friday night? No need for a movie, as long as you have Winning!


3. The Winner’s Kiss 5 stars20443235

This series did not start in the best of ways, in my opinion, the romance overshadowing everything in the beginning, but it slowly developed itself as an intense, treacherous read. I never found the main couple (and let’s face it, the only couple) worth shipping, before I got to this book. It’s so different from its predecessors and much longer, but oh so much more worth it also.


252036752. The Star-Touched Queen 5 stars

This lovely book doesn’t have a very high rating average on Goodreads (merely a 3.62 out of 5) which frankly befuddled me, but if there’s something I love, it’s loving a book not every single person in the entire world does. Haha. But honestly, this is so 29939047beautifully-written and it was extremely easy for me to mentally place myself into the heroine’s body for the entire adventure. And guess what? It has a companion novel:

A Crown of Wishes!

… That will be released in 2017.


AND FINALLY….

OUR NUMBER ONE…

FROM THE BELOVED SERIES CAPTIVE PRINCE…

AND THE ILLUSTRIOUS (IN LOLA’S OPINION) AUTHOR C.S. PACAT…

KINGS RISING!!

17158532

1. Kings Rising 5 stars

Now, if you know me from this very blog or Goodreads (under Lola Reviewer), you are aware of my unconditional love for the Captive Prince trilogy. I swear, I waited TWO YEARS for this book (two very long, lonely and painful years), but the wait was so, so worth it when the publisher contacted me a month before the publication of this very book to let me know they will be sending a finished copy to me, as a thank you for my support for the series and in hope that I welcome C.S. Pacat on my blog for a second time. Of course, I said YES. A big, giant yes. Doing author interviews with authors I truly admire always brightens my day. So anyway, Kings Rising is an outstanding final book (with an outstandingly romantic ending) to the Captive Prince trilogy.

hitormissbooksdaisies
Well, I think I’ve taken the spotlight for long enough. Now it’s your turn! Let me know which ones you agree with and which ones you don’t. What are your favourite 2016 publications so far?  🙂

lolareviewer

 Follow me on:

 Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

19 thoughts on “Best Books of 2016 (So Far)

  1. This was a great overview of 2016 so far!! You got me on the Captive Prince trilogy so now I MUST go and read it!!! I absolutely loved The Winner’s Kiss and it is definitely one of my favourite endings!! The Star Touched Queen, although I didn’t rate 5 stars, I absolutely enjoyed it! I’m very excited for the companion novel!!!! AAHHH!!! It looks so good!! Anyway, can’t wait to see how the other half of 2016 treats you! 🙂

    Like

  2. I haven’t read enough new releases this year to make my own list, but I just finished “My Lady Jane” this weekend and it was hilarious! Sweet and light, like a bowlful of gummy bears. Just add vodka. Despite what Lady Jane would say.

    Like

  3. I’ve heard so much about Lady Jane and The Captive Prince trilogy!
    Lady Jane, about how hilarious it is.
    And captive prince, about how amazing it is.
    I really should get into reading those books ^^
    And, of course, I’ve heard all about the other books you mentiones, Though I haven’t read them either (yet) (:

    My blog: http://magiverse.blogspot.co.il/

    Like

  4. I haven’t read anything yet from the books you listed but I’m hoping to pick up Winning very soon. I’ve also heard a lot of great things about Lady Jane so hopefully I’ll get that too. The Winner’s Trilogy has been on my TBR for so long now and I think this is a sign that I should get on with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

