Review: Starflight (Starflight #1) by Melissa Landers


21793182Starflight by Melissa Landers

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: February 2nd 2016
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 13+
Pacing: Fast
Genres &  Themes: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Romance, Family, Danger, Pirates, Love-Hate Relationship

Buy The Book Now at The Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

BLURB:

Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She’s so desperate to reach the realm that she’s willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he’s been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe…

birds

Anyone for a terrific, action-packed and unforgettable adventure in space?

Hop in! You know you want to.

I wish I could say that I’m not surprised Starflight captured my interest so fast and held on to it until the very last page.

But the truth is, I very much am.

I’m one of those readers who are wary of YA science fiction because, most of the time, it doesn’t make any sense to me. And the nomenclatures always manage to destroy my excitement for a sci-fi book.

Except, Starflight is everything a sci-fi book should be. Not only that, but it’s much, much better than Melissa Landers’ previous series, Alienated.

It’s so many things combined: original, entertaining, family-themed, well-written, incredibly addictive and so, so interesting.

Both the world-building and characters the author created deserve a raucous hand of applause! I couldn’t get enough of the spaceships and their crews aka pirates.

That’s right. Pirates. In space.

Solana and Doran get off to a rocky start, her indenturing to him being the catalyst to a dangerous game of cat and mouse in space.

Everyone’s after them. They’ll both go to prison if they get caught (or worse). But the crew is there to protect them, and before they even know it, they found a new family.

The best thing about Starflight is hard to pinpoint, because everything works to make the reader beg for more: the dynamics between the crew members, the love-hate relationship Solana and Doran share, the mysterious circumstances in which the crew came together and every dangerous situation the characters get caught up in.

It’s all so fun to witness.

There’s very little that is predictable about this book, which comes as no surprise since, in space, there’s no way to assure one’s safety.

I recommend this book to all of you who are looking for something different and unputdownable.

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

17 thoughts on “Review: Starflight (Starflight #1) by Melissa Landers

  1. I’ve been meaning to read this for quite some time! 🙂 And this review just makes it even more tempting to pick it up. I don’t even know why I haven’t yet?? Oh well. Hopefully sometime soon. Great review!

    Like

  2. This book is available for audiobook download through my library’s digital database but I’ve been hesitant to try it… I’ve been trying to read more Sci-Fi this year too. I do believe I’ll try this one 😊

    Like

  3. Ooooh I’ve been thinking about reading this book but always unsure because outer space science fiction is always a hit or miss for me (like the name of your blog! lol) but I’ve seen many positive reviews about it so maybe I’ll check it out soon! Anywayyy, I nominated you for the Sunshine Blogger Award😀 I hope you don’t mind and can do it when you’re free. Cheers!😉
    Here’s the link to the post: https://pupuutc.wordpress.com/2016/06/06/the-sunshine-blogger-award/

    Like

  4. I promise you, Lola, every. single. time. I come here, you make me want to read ALL THE BOOKS! I JUST LURVE that cover! I guess since it DOES take place in space that it has to have some “other-worldly” aspect to it! 🙂 I can tell you’re really excited about this book and even though I’ve never read the author’s Alienated series, YOU MAKE ME WANT TO! 🙂 I’m pretty sure it’s in my TBR though…

    Like

  5. I recently purchased this and have added it to my TBR. I’m glad to see another positive review for this. I was intrigued as soon as any reviewer/booktuber mentioned space pirates, so I’m looking forward to reading this.

    Like

  6. I was so excited for this book because I heard “space pirates” and immediately had flashes of Treasure Planet and Firefly dancing across my mind. And it didn’t disappoint me. I found it so easy to get sucked into. I can’t wait for the next one!

    Like

  7. You nailed it for me, I don’t read sci-fi period because it doesn’t make sense to me either. I can’t appreciate all the awesome science behind it unless I have a visual. It’s good that this hooked you, at least your time wasn’t wasted

    Like

  8. I loved this book too! I loved that it was a space opera with teens 😀 (I also wasn’t a fan of Alienated)

    I wasn’t a fan of Doran or Solara at all in the beginning, but as the story went on, I started to warm up to them. I loved that there were a lot of things that went wrong, although I felt like the story got into a pattern of ‘Everything’s okay – a problem arise – dangerous solution to problem – not sure if they’re going to make it – They make it’. Which meant that I knew every time something bad happened, they would be fine.

    P.S. i had never heard of the word ‘nomenclatures’ until this post! lol.

    Jordon @ Simply Adrift

    Like

  9. When I read the summary I was like: “Ooh, I’m not sure about this one.”
    But then I read your review and I was like: *opens TBD* *adds to basket* *realizes I have no money* *closes TBD and puts on to-read shelf on Goodreads instead
    Great review, Lola!

    Like

Leave a Reply

