Review: The Kite Runner: Graphic Novel by Khaled Hosseini, Fabio Celoni & Mirka Andolfo


11296523The Kite Runner: Graphic Novel by Khaled Hosseini

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: January 1st 2011
Publisher: Riverhead Trade
Point of View: Masculine
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres &  Themes: Adult, Historical, Graphic Novel, Friendship, Betrayal

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

BLURB:

The perennial bestseller-now available as a sensational new graphic novel.

Since its publication in 2003, nearly 7 million readers have discovered “The Kite Runner.” Through Khaled Hosseini’s brilliant writing, a previously unknown part of the world was brought to vivid life for readers. Now, in this beautifully illustrated graphic novel adaptation, Hosseini brings his compelling story to a new generation of readers.

REVIEW:

I can’t believe how sad this story is. Now I really have to read the novel, because there has to be MORE. More wonderful moments of true friendship between Amir and Hassan. More detail on the conflict between nations. More harrowing moments, too…

This story moved me, greatly, and I may have shed a tear if things didn’t evolve as quickly as they did. In a way, it’s a good thing they did, because my interest never faltered and I was able to read this in one sitting. But still.

I’m not fond of the art, but that’s just me. I also wanted to know more about the Afghanistan in the 20th Century, but I understand that a graphic novel is not always able to provide us with large detailing and description and explanation without becoming tedious.

This is why I strongly want to read the novel. Plus, it’s a classic… and I believe that classics need to be read. It’s not like their inventory can expand over the years. At least, not in my opinion.

kiterunner_pg12-300-_v153932478_

kiterunner_pg132_300b-_v153929405_

Book Depository | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

10 thoughts on “Review: The Kite Runner: Graphic Novel by Khaled Hosseini, Fabio Celoni & Mirka Andolfo

  1. Khaled Hosseini is such a great writer.Please read The Kite Runner and yes he talks a lot about Afghan during the good old days when kids used to run with kites.The culture and the people of Afghan CME alive through his pages.After Kite Runner there is also A Thousand Splendid Suns and Then The Mountains Echoed.He only has three books but they are really good.I hope you will like Kite Runner as much as I did 🙂

    Like

  2. I didn’t know it was a graphic novel! Thanks to you, the book just climbed higher in my next TBR. I have the book waiting for me (in French, cause Trang made me realize it was originally in French). Can’t wait to try it out. Thank you so much for this wonderful review that helped pique my curiosity. 😉

    Oh and classics SHOULD be read for SURE! 😀 I’m a huge addict for those, and whenever I come across one, I always end up putting it in my TBR XD

    – Lashaan

    Like

  3. Pingback: Book Reviews | SVM & TB Stories

  4. I had no idea there was a graphic novel! How was it in comparison to reading a normal novel? I imagine some scenes could be a lot more brutal if pictured but then again the imagination has a lot of power… I’m very tempted to check it out in graphic novel form (though if you haven’t yet, read the novel, it’s incredible!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

