Review: Wicked (A Wicked Saga, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout


22895264Wicked by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: December 8th 2014
Publisher: Indie
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres &  Themes: New Adult, Paranormal, Romance, Fae

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

BLURB:

Things are about to get Wicked in New Orleans.

Twenty-two year old Ivy Morgan isn’t your average college student. She, and others like her, know humans aren’t the only thing trolling the French Quarter for fun… and for food. Her duty to the Order is her life. After all, four years ago, she lost everything at the hands of the creatures she’d sworn to hunt, tearing her world and her heart apart.

Ren Owens is the last person Ivy expected to enter her rigidly controlled life. He’s six feet and three inches of temptation and swoon-inducing charm. With forest-green eyes and a smile that’s surely left a stream of broken hearts in its wake, he has an uncanny, almost unnatural ability to make her yearn for everything he has to offer. But letting him in is as dangerous as hunting the cold-blooded killers stalking the streets. Losing the boy she loved once before had nearly destroyed her, but the sparking tension that grows between them becomes impossible for Ivy to deny. Deep down, she wants… she needs more than what her duty demands of her, what her past has shaped for her.

But as Ivy grows closer to Ren, she realizes she’s not the only one carrying secrets that could shatter the frail bond between them. There’s something he’s not telling her, and one thing is for certain. She’s no longer sure what is more dangerous to her—the ancient beings threatening to take over the town or the man demanding to lay claim to her heart and her soul.

REVIEW:

description

B-But…I usually love Jennifer L. Armentrout’s work! Her characters always feel like they could just jump off the page and stand before you, and her writing always flows perfectly with the story and pacing. Yet, this did not work for me. I had déjà vu sensations at many points into the novel, as if I’ve read this kind of story many times before, NA and its oh-so-imminent aspects aside. It actually felt like the author inspired some of her story’s constituents from The Hollows, Fever and the Night Huntress series…but mixed and developed them with a poor and predictable execution.

Ivy works for the order: she kills fae, those despicable creatures that lure into the human world. She doesn’t have many people she cares about: her parents and her boyfriend both died and she is now left living alone with a certain brownie (similar to a pixie, since they can fly, but uglier, I think) she found on her path, Tink, killing fae after fae, sometimes along her best friend, Val. Except, one day, she finds herself in front of an Ancient, while those were supposed to be held in the Otherworld only. Could it be that a grand danger is to come? When the Ancient escapes (more like the other way around – he is too powerful), she plans on finding him again and, this time, to actually vanquish him. But, she will not be alone on this mission. Ren, her new partner, will be beside her.

I honestly thought Ivy was a good heroine to read about. She was strong, fierce and snarky by moment and having this nonchalance I admired:
‘‘I’d never been shot before. Stabbed? Yes. Thrown around? Most definitely. Almost set on fire? That too. But being shot…wow, this sucked donkey balls.’’
However, I did think her ‘innocence’ wasn’t convincing. She kept bringing her ex-boyfriend, who died three years ago, up (which got annoying after some time) saying how much she loved him and didn’t feel that close to anyone again since he, Shaun, died…but then she told Ren she didn’t have much experience and that with Shaun they haven’t gotten THAT far. It wasn’t very believable.

Ren was…a bit strange. Honestly, there are moments when he seemed alpha-like, others when he was acting very childishly and, the rest of the time, he kept popping out cheesy or clichéd lines such as:
‘‘You’re even pretty when you cry,’’ ‘‘I want to hear you scream my name when you come,’’ ‘‘I’ve been waiting all day for you to text or call me’’
or
‘‘It’s a good thing—a powerful thing to see a female you like wearing your clothes.’’

‘Female,’ really?

The romance overall was okay, but very predictable and containing unsurprising scenes. It could have worked better if, I believe, we knew more about Ren and if this latter would have been more exciting. I thought Ivy’s relationship with Val was overrated. I mean, it was obvious she was the only friend Ivy possessed, but I wasn’t convinced here either that they had the kind of strong bond Ivy seemed to think. The pacing was great, really, but the writing, this time, repetitive and lacking of a throughout style.

A character I did find original though was Tink, even if he reminded me A LOT of Jenks from The Hollows series. He was fun and entertaining! This made me ‘LOL’ so much:


‘‘Let’s talk about sex.’’


‘‘No.’’ Rolling my eyes, I walked away.


‘‘Sex is good!’’


‘‘Shut up, Tink.’’


‘‘Sex is fun!’’ he continued to shout.


I shook my head. ‘‘The only thing you’re having sex with is inanimate objects, so what do you know?’’


He ignored me. ‘‘Sex is best when it’s one on one!’’

And so, this was not the best book by Jennifer L. Armentrout that I’ve read so far. On the contrary, unfortunately. Although, recently, I’ve been having disappointments with my NA reads. Maybe I should keep my distance from them for a while? Nuh-uh, they always have such interesting premises; I cannot resist.

Book Depository | Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

11 thoughts on “Review: Wicked (A Wicked Saga, #1) by Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. This was interesting review.I have no interest in the book but I still enjoyed the whole review.Sorry the book dissapointed you though.

    Like

  2. Armentrout is an author that I could live without. I’ve only read her Lux series, and I that was an okay series. However, every time I want to expand my reading with her books, I come across reviews that point out how similar each book is with other popular books. That just puts me off. The only reason I even started the Lux books, is because I was dared to read them. After this review, I think I’ll remove it from my to-read shelf. Great review!

    Like

  3. Well that’s disappointing. I have read the first 3 Lux series books and I love them. I can’t wait to finish that series and read more of her work, but too bad this one wasn’t very good. 😦 That is a great cover though haha. I may try it at some point anyway. Thanks for the great review! :O)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Book Reviews | SVM & TB Stories

Leave a Reply

