Review: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1) by Rick Yancey


16101128The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: May 7th 2013
Publisher: G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers
Point of View: 1st Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 13+
Genres &  Themes: Young Adult, Post-Apocalyptic, Dystopia, Aliens, Survival, Romance, Action, Suspense, Science Fiction, Forbidden Love, War

Buy This Book from Book Depository, Free Delivery World Wide

BLURB:

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

REVIEW:

Maybe the last human being on Earth won’t die of starvation or exposure or as a meal for wild animals.
Maybe the last one to die will be killed by the last one alive.

The 5th Wave is exhilarating.

The story is so thrilling and suspenseful that it’ll draw you in before you even get the chance to finish reading the first sentence. And it will truly seal you interest when you will get acquainted with all the adventurous, intrepid and bracing characters. Cassie. Sammy. Evan. Zombie. Ringer. It will be hard for you to pick your favourite, because they’ll all worth your attention.

What’s wonderful is that this book really does have a little bit of everything. First, it’s science fiction, which you probably already know, but it’s doesn’t only touches on the subject of aliens invading the Earth. No. The characters have their own conflict above the war for territorial acquisition happening. They’ve lost their family. They fell in love with the wrong person. They became someone else: they lost themselves. They try to keep on living when there’s nothing to live for. I liked the deepness of themes and how it challenged us as readers.

How do you rid the Earth of Humans? Rid the humans of their humanity.

Cassie, Evan, Zombie and all the other characters are trying to find solace in something. Thus, it is to be expected and definitely normal for there to be a lot of rumination going on in their minds. Yes, there’s enough action to satisfy you but please don’t expect a ubiquitous amount of it, for you’ll find this book rather slow and will be deeply disappointed by it. The pacing varies; it’ll be slow for fifty pages and then pick up in speed, and vice versa. I truly didn’t mind it, because the characters’ voices are so present and distinguishable; it never made me fall into boredom.

One more thing: everything is not what it seems.

I may be the last one, but I am the last one still standing. I am the one turning to face the faceless hunter in the woods or an abandoned highway. I am the one not running, not staying, but facing.
Because if I am the last one, then I am humanity.
And if this is humanity’s last war, then I am the battlefield.

Book Depository
Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads | Bloglovin’

10 thoughts on “Review: The 5th Wave (The 5th Wave, #1) by Rick Yancey

  1. Great review ! a 5 stars ! 😀 I’m happy you liked it 😉 I have yet to watch the movie hahah 😀 I like the book too but it wasn’t that impressive altho I gave it a 4 because it was hilarious, I loved the narration and the actions througout the book !

    Like

  2. Wow, 5 stars. I am glad you like the book. I do love this series too and I can’t wait for the last book to come out. Have you seen the movie adaptation yet?

    Like

  3. I have yet to read this one myself but I’ve heard nothing but good things about it! I’m really happy you loved it so much – I need to read it soon 😀 GREAT review^^ x

    Like

  4. I’ve had a copy of this for ages! Strangely I think I read a few negative reviews early on and whilst I know I shouldn’t let them affect me they still do and so this started worming it’s way further down the stack until frankly it’s no longer even visible. And then in the past couple of weeks I’ve read a number of glowing reviews – maybe it needs to start climbing the stack again!
    Lynn 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

