DNF Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover


25111004November 9 by Colleen Hoover

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: November 10th 2015
Publisher: Atria Books
Point of View: 1st Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres &  Themes: New Adult, Contemporary, Cheesy Romance, Books about Books, Soulmates, Dreams and Hopes

BLURB:

Beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Colleen Hoover returns with an unforgettable love story between a writer and his unexpected muse.

Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist.

REVIEW:

Once upon a time, I was a die-hard fan of Colleen Hoover.

Things change.

She laughs and focuses on my eyes for a beat, but then her focus falls to my mouth and God, I want to kiss her. I want to kiss her so bad it hurts and now I can’t smile because I’m in too much pain.

It’s like that all story long.

I’m not saying that I have a cold heart and can’t appreciate “romancey” passages. It just doesn’t fulfill my definition of true, honest and realistic love.

In other words, this book is extremely cheesy. And, since we get both Ben and Fallon’s chapter point of views, the cheesiness really stands out and becomes ubiquitous.

“One of the things I always try to remind myself is that everyone has scars,” she says. “A lot of them even worse than mine. The only difference is that mine are visible and most people aren’t.”

Then why do you keep complaining about it?

She’s always self-conscious about her scars, which appeared after she survived a fire. It’s all she thinks about when in company of others, especially guys. Are they staring at me? Do they see me as a monster? Am I repulsing to them?

Just stop.

I understand that her confidence is low due to the scars, but does she have to whine about them all the time and continuously mention them? I vote for a no.

“Take a seat. Fallon’s in the shower.” I glance at the couch and then at the hallway that leads to Fallon’s bedroom. “You don’t think she needs my help in the shower?”

The humor is another thing that I couldn’t stand. I NEED it in my contemporary reads, otherwise I quickly become disinterested in the story. But the humor in this book is of very poor quality. It’s bad, so bad.

“What if we meet up again next year on the same day? And the year after that? We’ll do it for five years. Same date, same time, same place. We’ll pick up where we left off tonight, but only for the day. I’ll make sure you’re following through with your auditions and I can write a book about the days we’re together.”

The premise is the entire reason why I even started this novel. Not because it’s a Colleen Hoover book, not because of the cover or even the hype. To me, the idea of someone writing his own love story sounded fascinating.

Yeah, right.

Maybe it could have worked. Maybe with other characters it might have been less annoying, unrealistic, eye-roll worthy and cheesy.

It’s not badly written. Colleen Hoover knows how to express emotions:

“It pisses me off that you allow something so trivial to define such a huge part of you. I can’t make you pretty in this book, because that would be an insult. You’re fucking beautiful. And you’re funny. And the only times I’m not completely enamored by you are the moments you’re feeling sorry for yourself. Because I don’t know if you’ve realized this yet, but you’re alive, Fallon. And every time you look in the mirror, you don’t have the right to hate what you see. Because you survived when a lot of people don’t get that lucky. So from now on when you think about your scars, you aren’t allowed to resent them. You’re going to embrace them, because you’re lucky to be on this earth to see them. And any guy you allow to touch your scars better thank you for that privilege.”

Except, who would ever give this kind of perfectly structured speech to another human being?

Maybe it’s my cynical side that’s speaking, but I couldn’t take this book seriously. It didn’t convince me. Did not finish at 40%.

Youtube ~ Goodreads ~ Twitter ~ Instagram ~ Google+

9 thoughts on “DNF Review: November 9 by Colleen Hoover

  1. I’m sorry you didn’t like it.I enjoyed reading it and liked the twist on the 4th November.Guess this wasn’t for everyone.Hope your next book will be more interesting 🙂

    Like

  2. Aww I’m sorry you didn’t like it 😦

    Yeah I see where you’re coming from. It definitely would’ve been better had to worked towards getting better rather than complaining. I do understand why she would feel self conscious about her scars. But to say that she tries to look on the bright side and doesn’t? That’s just silly.

    I hope your next read is better! Great review 🙂

    Like

  3. Sorry that you didn’t like it 😦 I’ve never read anything by Colleen Hoover but I have heard other people haven’t liked November 9 either. I loved your review! You’re so honest and blunt, it was brilliant to read!
    I hope you enjoy your next read a lot more! 🙂

    Like

  4. I’m sorry to see you didn’t like this one. I’ve read one book by Colleen Hoover, and I really enjoyed it. (Hopeless) I do think the end got a bit soap opera-y, but the rest of the book was so good it was a five star read for me. But you know what? For some reason, I am hesitant to pick up another book by this author.

    Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

