Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell


26365537Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: February 25th 2016
Publisher: Macmillians Kids UK
Point of View: 3rd Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 12+
Genres &  Themes: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fandom, Short Story

BLURB:

If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels. Kindred Spirits is an engaging short story by Rainbow Rowell, author of the bestselling Eleanor & Park, Fangirl and Carry On, and is part of a handful of selected short reads specially produced for World Book Day.

REVIEW:

‘‘Everybody likes Star Wars,’’ he said. ‘‘Everybody likes everything these days. The whole world is a nerd.’’
‘‘Are you mad because other people like Star Wars? Are you mad because people like me like Star Wars?’’
Gabe glowered at her. ‘‘Maybe.’’

Kindred Spirits is a – very – short story written by the imaginative Rainbow Rowell for the World Book Day, which took place on March 3rd.

Would you look at that, I missed it.

This TEASER illustrates how people can go to great lengths for things they believe in – even if the latter are fandom-related, how beautifully and unexpectedly fandom can connect two people and how you don’t have to fall into a category to be a true fan of something.

I call it a ‘‘teaser’’ because, aside from the aforementioned, Kindred Spirits also introduces conflict. For instance, Elena seems to have very mixed emotions toward her dad, who broke up with her mom, yet, he is the one who sparked her love for Star Wars. Her mom is, therefore, continuously repeating her how men are not to be trusted and should be avoided at all cost, so that’s what she does, until she meets Gabe.

It isn’t light enough for the small amount of pages that it contains, I found. It isn’t meant to be a full-length novel, but I do feel like it could easily have been one.

And I guess this is where we become aware of Rowell’s talent. Not many authors can write a short story that can be perfectly transformed into a novel.

I adored the theme of fandom and being a fangirl myself, I automatically connected to Elena.

Many will.

You don’t need to love Star Wars to love this.

Hell, I never even watched those movies… Please don’t throw tomatoes at me! Throw avocados; they’re way more delicious!

So why not read it, if you have an hour to spare?

However Elena changed or grew, Star Wars seemed to be there for her in a new way.

Youtube | Twitter | Instagram | Google+ | Goodreads

4 thoughts on “Review: Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell

  1. *gently tosses you a yummy avocado* LOL 😉 Being a fangirl, I definitely want to check this one out too! I happen to love Star Wars too so naturally I’m even more excited about it. Glad you enjoyed it even though you’re not into Star Wars – that shows that the story and writing isn’t dependent on being part of the Star Wars fandom 😀 Great review^^

    Like

  2. Fandoms? Rainbow Rowell? I think that this is the perfect story for me! I heard so many things about this one when it was released on World Book Day… I just haven’t gotten the time to go for it! I’m not into Star Wars either! I totally get it and I’m sure that anyone could enjoy anything by Rainbow Rowell. Awesome review Lola!

    Like

Leave a Reply

