Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell


16068905Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: September 10th 2013
Publisher: St Matin’s Press
Point of View: 3rd Person
Recommended Age: 11+
Genres & Themes: Love, College, Family, LGBT

BLURB:

Cath is a Simon Snow fan.

Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan…

But for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.

Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.

Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.

Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words… And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.

For Cath, the question is: Can she do this?

Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? Writing her own stories?

And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

REVIEW:

CARRY ON

AND FANGIRL

ALL OVER THIS BOOK.

Oh my freaking god. How crazy is it that I now feel like starting a new blog and loosing myself in my own written virtual universe? Ha, I definitely don’t have time for that, but Cather is one inspiring girl.

The word ‘‘fanfiction’’ is not one I am unfamiliar with. I know what it means, how it works and what kind of effect it has on people. I’ve just never been a ‘‘fan’’ of it myself. I like original pieces of work, and if I don’t in fact like a story, I don’t feel invested enough to seek alternate versions. I’m glad fanfiction exists, though, I’m all for never-ending stories and self-expression. I’m not saying you won’t ever see me read one (I’m dying to get my hands on The Student Prince), but the writer needs to change A LOT of elements for me to consider even glancing at it. Is that strange? Maybe, maybe not.

None the less, and quite to my surprise, I LOVED Simon and Baz. Probably because… Hey, I knew they came straight out of the Harry Potter series, but the author changing physical features, names and even personality traits, helped me in forgetting that piece of information and just focus on the new story she provided us with. Plus I love gay romance.

You know how sometimes you read a contemporary story and you can compare what happens in the novel to things that have happened to you in the past or to someone you know? Well, Fangirl did not make me feel like that. It’s not necessarily a bad thing… but, to me, it has more of a fairy tale feeling to it than anything else. I could connect with Cather’s obsession for Simon and Baz, since I have my own LGBT coupleSSSS to obsess over (Damen and Laurent, Alec and Magnus, etc). Of course, the parts related to her mother are not wonderful but sad, except they’re also inconclusive. Like, will she keep growing up without a mother?

Cather is a heroine very easily likeable. I mean, what’s not to like? The girl is a book addict (just like many of us), writes, gets straight A’s and doesn’t go on partying and drinking every night. It’s funny how she thinks she and her twin sister Wren are alike, since Wren is exactly the opposite of her and I felt how different they were when reading the story. She has her charm, though. I wish we’d gotten more of Reagan. She’s there… but not exactly there. She comes and goes, has only Tweet-long conversations with Cather and honestly doesn’t seem that much interested in her, so I was surprised when Cather admitted to been Reagan’s best girl friend. Levi is adorable. If he could be an object, he would be a Teddy Bear for everyone to hug!

As for the writing, daaamn… I have had a forthy-page taste of Rainbow Rowell’s writing in My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories, and sadly so, I was disappointed by her Holiday story and strongly thought that this author might not be for me after all. So imagine my shock when I was completely entranced by her writing in Fangirl. Here’s to second chances! *wink* *wink*

I CANNOT WAIT TO SNATCH OPEN CARRY ON.

10 thoughts on “Review: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Me too! I’ve read this book a long time ago and loved this! Carry On was one of my most anticipated releases, but have not picked it up yet… I suck.

    Like

  2. Oh yes I really enjoyed this one as well, it was fun to discover a book by the author mainly as I heard a lot about this one. The only thing bothering me was the fanfiction parts, I wasn’t that interested in them.

    Like

  3. hahaha I completely know what you mean: I’ve never been a fan of fanfiction either for all the reasons you listed. I’m glad it exists too but it’s just not something I seek out. If I become obsessed with a book/series, I’ll just reread it again and again LOL! Despite that, I adored Baz and Simon too – as well as Cath and her real life adventures. As book-lovers and bloggers, it’s impossible I think for us not to relate to her^^ DEFINITELY NEED to get my hands on Carry On too 😀 Awesome review!

    Like

  4. I’m happy to see that you enjoyed it!

    Yes I have heard so many wonderful things about this book and the author! But sometimes I feel like she’s not for me which is surprising considering I haven’t read anything she wrote. Maybe I’ll try Fangirl or her other books.

    Great review 🙂

    Like

  5. I’ve been debating whether to read this for a while but I’ve never quite been sure (especially as I’ve not read anything by Rainbow Rowell either). But after reading this review I really want to give it a try!

    Like

  6. Pingback: Best Young Adult Books with Mild LGBT Themes | Hit or Miss Books

Leave a Reply

