Review: The Notebook (The Notebook, #1) by Nicholas Sparks


15931The Notebook by Nicholas Sparks

My rating: 2 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: 1996
Publisher: Bantam
Point of View: 1st and 3rd Person
Recommended Age: everyone!
Genres & Themes: Love, Social Class

BLURB:

Set amid the austere beauty of the North Carolina coast, The Notebook begins with the story of Noah Calhoun, a rural Southerner recently returned from the Second World War. Noah is restoring a plantation home to its former glory, and he is haunted by images of the beautiful girl he met fourteen years earlier, a girl he loved like no other. Unable to find her, yet unwilling to forget the summer they spent together, Noah is content to live with only memories…until she unexpectedly returns to his town to see him once again.

Like a puzzle within a puzzle, the story of Noah and Allie is just the beginning. As it unfolds, their tale miraculously becomes something different, with much higher stakes. The result is a deeply moving portrait of love itself, the tender moments and the fundamental changes that affect us all. It is a story of miracles and emotions that will stay with you forever.

REVIEW:

I’m just gonna say it: I expected less.

Not being inexperienced in the reading of Nicholas Sparks novels, I somewhat knew this book would contain tons and tons of corny and cheesy replies and gestures. But NOT in every. single. paragraph. I’m not one to discard the idea of soul mates, after all the young adult readings that I have done, but when something is too wonderful and perfect, it’s more annoying than cute. So there is too much of that.

Also, the plot is so weirdly shaped. It starts with Noah as an elderly, in the first person, then it continues in the 3rd person with Noah in his thirties, and it finally ends with elderly Noah in the first person again. I know why the author did that and it’s pretty ingenious when you globally think about it… but reading it is a different story. The 3rd person part of the story is cut at the most decisive moment and that is utterly outraging.

Moreover, when Noah sees Allie again, she is engaged to a super rich attorney. That super rich attorney, to whom I forgot the name of, is madly stressed out when he discovers that Allie has been with Noah the whole time she claimed to needing time to make some purchases in a specific city. So what does he do? He runs to her and tries to win her back! But does he ever turn against Noah? Bah! Noah is an angel, how can anyone despise him?

And finally, the mother. Allie’s mother. She disapproved of them as a couple when they were in their teen years, but now more than a dozen years later she doesn’t even blink when she learns Allie has gone back to Noah and never tries to talk Allie into going back to her super rich attorney. So not realistic.

Basically, this book is made of rainbows and sunshine.
Not my favorite combination.
I expected less of that.
Sigh.

8 thoughts on “Review: The Notebook (The Notebook, #1) by Nicholas Sparks

  1. Aww I’m sorry that you didn’t like it 😦

    I too would’ve excepted more from Sparks. Considering the name he has for himself and that a lot of his books are movies. Note to self never read his books they are unrealistic.

    Great review 🙂

    Like

  2. I never read this but I did love the movie LOL! Sorry this wasn’t the read for you, most of his books end badly and it’s been awhile since I have read one and really liked it so I kind of gave up on him.

    Like

  3. Nice review! I quite liked the film and decided to try the book a few years ago. It really wasn’t for me either, it just felt so contrived. Completely put me off Nicholas Sparks!

    Like

  4. I adored the movie but I’m somewhat hesitant to read the book^^ I’ve never read anything by Nicholas Sparks and to be honest, from what you described here, I’m not sure I’d have better luck with it than you did. While I love actual rainbows I don’t like books made of nothing but sunshine and rainbows. Thanks for sharing your thoughts here though and I’m sorry this didn’t work out better for you 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

