Review: Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie


16304Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: 1934
Publisher: Kerkley
Point of View: 3rd Person
Recommended Age: 13+
Genres & Themes: Mystery

BLURB:

Just after midnight, a snowdrift stopped the Orient Express in its tracks. The luxurious train was surprisingly full for the time of the year. But by the morning there was one passenger fewer. A passenger lay dead in his compartment, stabbed a dozen times, his door locked from the inside.

REVIEW:

Sacrée Agatha Christie!

She was pretty darn amazing.

I must say I never read and so much liked a book with such a boring constant setting. I mean a train? Come on, how exciting can that get? … Apparently, though, it is a great setting for mystery cases! I just now remember watching ‘‘The Tourist’’ with Angelina Jolie, and wasn’t the scene in the train the one that was going to have in impact on everything to come? Yes, it was! Trains are fast, they create blurred lines, and they are filled with strangers… We can say they add a once of suspense in stories.

This is my second book by Mrs. Christie and my first in the Poirot series collection. I chose the most popular one to start with, because it always makes me wonder, with popular books, what they have that is so special and makes people want to read them. Well, this one has a lot going on for itself. Just the premise alone – a rich man is being stabbed to death twelve times in his train compartment, yet there is no sign of struggle and there was no way of exist for the murderer – had me all crazy on wanting to read this book.

It is worth your time from beginning to end. The craziest thing is that at one point, when I concluded things were beginning to look too silly and unrealistic, everything turned around and I was presented with another solution. JUST when I thought Agatha Christie missed the target, Mr. Poirot’s great intelligence unravelled the case to its fullest and my eyes got so big… Let me tell you something: You may thing you have, but you have NEVER read a mystery book such as this one. And that is the truth.

Care to have your mind blown? You know what you have to do 😉

10 thoughts on “Review: Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

  1. I went on a big Agatha Christie run in middle school and read a ton of her books (as did one of my best friends at the time). Recently I was thinking that I should really read her books again because it was a long time ago, but I remember the writing being great. Glad to hear you enjoyed this one so much!

    Like

  2. I’ve not read any Agatha Christie but she’s definitely on my list for 2016, I have a couple of books waiting on my shelves and this is one of them! So glad to hear that you enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

  3. Oh wow I feel dumb… I’ve never heard of Agatha Christie but everyone seems to! I must jump on this bandwagon ASAP! Excellent review, Lola <33

    Like

Leave a Reply

