Review: Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry


20348781Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Publication Date: May 11th 2014
Publisher: Indie
Point of View: 1st Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 13+
Genres & Themes: New Adult, High School, Student-Teacher, Death, Family

BLURB:

To Whom it May Concern,

It was easy to call us forbidden and harder to call us soulmates. Yet I believed we were both. Forbidden soulmates.

When I arrived to Edgewood, Wisconsin I didn’t plan to find him. I didn’t plan to stumble into Joe’s bar and have Daniel’s music stir up my emotions. I had no clue that his voice would make my hurts forget their own sorrow. I had no idea that my happiness would remember its own bliss.

When I started senior year at my new school, I wasn’t prepared to call him Mr. Daniels, but sometimes life happens at the wrong time for all the right reasons.

Our love story wasn’t only about the physical connection.

It was about family. It was about loss. It was about being alive. It was silly. It was painful. It was mourning. It was laughter.

It was ours.

And for those reasons alone, I would never apologize for loving Mr. Daniels.

-Ashlyn Jennings

REVIEW:

So cheesy… yet so PERFECTLY ADORABLE.

I’m really not the type of person who swoons when reading corny romance stories, but student-teacher relationships have always been a turn on for me. So I guess I didn’t mind the cheesiness, since it wasn’t the only thing we were exposed to.

Ashlyn and Mr. Daniels’ story is so freaking cute. They meet in a train, by pure coincidence, and they’re immediately attracted to one another. ALRIGHT, so that’s not the best way to start a love story (insta-lust), in my opinion, and I’m disappointed to see how the author couldn’t think of anything else to be the starting point of their relationship… but it’s okay. Not great, but okay.

Then they see each other for the second time in a bar, because – wait for it – Daniel is a singer! Yes, you heard me. Of course he had to be a singer. I hate singers. I mean… I hate love stories with singers who fall in love with non-singer girls or guys. For me, it’s the most cliché thing on this planet. I’m tired of it. So that’s mainly why this book loses a couple of points from me.

Everything from that point on – after she hears Daniel play and learns he’s her new teacher – is a delight to read! While I didn’t like the idea of Daniel also being a singer (although not extremely famous), I did enjoy reading the snippets of lyrics that are written at the beginning of every new chapter. I know it’s strange to like the songs but not the singers themselves, but I guess – hope – we all have our book-related turn offs. Plus I really, really liked Daniel’s sweet soul… just not his singer side.

You will be surprised, when starting the story, to see how much this book deals with death. The theme is there at the beginning and keeps on being present until the very last page. There’s something like four people who die, and while I thought this to be a bit of an exaggeration from the author’s part, I just went along with the whole drama. It’s dramatic, and sometimes overdramatic, but I’ve always liked intensity in books.

Another thing you’ll quickly notice is how fast and easily this story reads. It’s just such a relaxing, calm (despite all the telenovela-worthy elements) and wonderful read. Loving Mr. Daniels beautifully defines what it means to love someone… and why it’s important to let them go. Unlike what I first thought, the plot doesn’t revolve around Ashlyn and Daniel’s fear of being discovered, although they’re being extremely careful for that exact reason. No, the author didn’t want that to distract us from what’s most important: Ashlyn’s struggling to deal with the death of her twin sister, building a relationship with her stranger of a dad and unfolding Mr. Daniels.

You don’t even need my recommendation to read this book if you’re a lover of new adult intense romances easy to dive into and with characters that we wish were real. Happy reading!

5 thoughts on “Review: Loving Mr. Daniels by Brittainy C. Cherry

Leave a Reply

