Review: Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1) by K.A. Tucker


15990969Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker

My rating: 3 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: December 11th 2012
Publisher: Papoti Books
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres & Themes: New Adult, Contemporary Romance, Death

BLURB:

Kacey Cleary’s whole life imploded four years ago in a drunk-driving accident. Now she’s working hard to bury the pieces left behind—all but one. Her little sister, Livie. Kacey can swallow the constant disapproval from her born-again aunt Darla over her self-destructive lifestyle; she can stop herself from going kick-boxer crazy on Uncle Raymond when he loses the girls’ college funds at a blackjack table. She just needs to keep it together until Livie is no longer a minor, and then they can get the hell out of Grand Rapids, Michigan.

But when Uncle Raymond slides into bed next to Livie one night, Kacey decides it’s time to run. Armed with two bus tickets and dreams of living near the coast, Kacey and Livie start their new lives in a Miami apartment complex, complete with a grumpy landlord, a pervert upstairs, and a neighbor with a stage name perfectly matched to her chosen “profession.” But Kacey’s not worried. She can handle all of them. What she can’t handle is Trent Emerson in apartment 1D.

Kacey doesn’t want to feel. She doesn’t. It’s safer that way. For everyone. But sexy Trent finds a way into her numb heart, reigniting her ability to love again. She starts to believe that maybe she can leave the past where it belongs and start over. Maybe she’s not beyond repair.

But Kacey isn’t the only one who’s broken. Seemingly perfect Trent has an unforgiveable past of his own; one that, when discovered, will shatter Kacey’s newly constructed life and send her back into suffocating darkness.

REVIEW:

This has been a long month. In truth, I will admit to having finished two novels… including this one. This has never happened before, and I hope it will never happen again. I was about to finish a third book, but Jurassic Park’s last hundred pages just don’t make me feel as excited as the previous ones.

Anyway, enough blabbering. Ten Tiny Breaths has been on my ‘‘New Adult to Read before I Die’’ list for a year before I saw it on sale on Bookoutlet.ca and thought, ‘‘meh, why not?’’ It was worth the couple of bucks I paid for it, but it really made me realize that I should attempt fixing this bad habit I have to never read the synopsises of books! I think I’m about to read a love/hate romance story when what I get is a mystery book. I think I’m about to lose myself in a psychological thriller when what I get is a cheesy college romance story.

Here I go again. All this to say that I had not clue this book would deal with death, lost, forgiveness and contain (clearly) a lot of psychological elements. I mean, I definitely predicted something relatively intense, but the overdone car accident leads to parents’ death, leads to emotional breakdown, leads to moving away, leads to meeting a hot guy that will save the day just didn’t take me by surprise.

I appreciated all the background we got on Kacey, because it really helps us understand her motives better and opens our comprehensive eyes to a lot of the things she does (or did) that we normally wouldn’t approve of. Kacey is a character that is not easily defined, especially not by the place where she lives or works but it’s the why she lives in a crappy place and works in a strip club that are worth analysing.

Kacey is physically strong, that can easily be said, but she’s also very stubborn and emotionally fragile. She may deny that if someone ever dares say that to her face but, believe me, she’s got this wall she built to keep everyone out, because she’s afraid that, if it crumbles, she will too. I liked her. I didn’t connect to her, because broken heroes and heroines are very hit or miss for me, but I dare say I wouldn’t mind reading another book with her in it.

As for *trumpets* Trent, the hot and mysterious guy with gorgeous blue eyes from the laundry room, I’m going to say that I’m not displeased. Of course, I predicted the plot twist, so that’s always a down, but I didn’t mind him… Thing is, he’s pretty much like every other New Adult broken hero I’ve encountered before, except for the fact that he carries a little less of a heavy pack of anger, self-pity and self-destruction with him. Thank god.

Livie, Storm and Mia were my sunshine in this book. I love how present they are and how their presence in the story has an actual purpose… and the fact that they get their own moment to share their story in the companion novels. I guess this is why the author doesn’t reveal too much about their background, although she does satisfy the reader’s curiosity.

In sum, Ten Tiny Breaths, while enjoyable, is not that different from the majority of New Adult books there already are out there, but, hell, it’s a structure that works and sells and that I personally keep reading because it’s hopeful. If you want unique, though, I’d recommend a New Adult Fantasy story because contemporary ones do, in my opinion, follow the same patterns over and over again. Here’s a recommendation: The Collectors’ Society!

3 thoughts on “Review: Ten Tiny Breaths (Ten Tiny Breaths, #1) by K.A. Tucker

  1. I’m like that too! I vaguely have an idea of the plot in books that I read. And I think to myself ‘I got this. I remember everything.’ After some time I’m getting my phone to re-read the synopsis as well as the books synopsis. And yeah I definitely understand where you’re coming from. I’m glad you liked this! Great review 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

