Mini Review: Bridge of Snow (Winner’s Trilogy, #0.5) by Marie Rutkoski


Bridge of Snow by Marie Rutkoski

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: Bought
Publication Date: January 28th 2014
Publisher: Tor Books
Point of View: 3rd Person
Recommended Age: 11+
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Short Story, Fantasy, Love, Mythology

BLURB:

Ignore the stirrings of war. Let the carriage to a royal ball wait. There is a story to be told: of a starless night, a mother and her sick son, and a mortal who falls in love with the snow god, and will do anything to have her…

REVIEW:

It’s crazy. So I’ve read both The Winner’s Curse and The Winner’s Crime and Arin never warmed up to me. To be honest, I partially disapproved of him… until reading this little gem of a short story. It’s not as if I were oblivious to his softer side; I just never paused to acknowledge it and, let’s face it, scenes with him showing empathy for Kestrel weren’t that abundant. His prince-like and smug personality constantly put me off.

BUT, seeing Arin as a little boy changed something inside of me… melted my heart to a fair degree. I can’t believe such a short story could have this kind of effect on me.

I have a feeling I will enjoy book three even more than the first two now that I’ve read Bridge of Snow. Good job, Marie Rutkoski!

See my review for The Winner’s Curse.

See my review for The Winner’s Crime.

14 thoughts on “Mini Review: Bridge of Snow (Winner’s Trilogy, #0.5) by Marie Rutkoski

  1. I really wish authors would do more of these prequel/bridging novellas for free! They can really help you understand certain characters, and of course if it’s a character you love it’s always like GIMME MOARR. XD

    Like

  2. I’m so excited to book up these books. I didn’t even know there was a novella for this series out yet, so now I have yet another book to purchase! The cover kinda freaked me tf out, but I’ll get passed it since the story is amazing lmao.

    Like

  3. A novella changed your character on a main character you didn’t like? I have to read this now! Personally I read the first book and wasn’t to thrilled, so maybe I should read this one before moving on to the second. I think I will ^.^

    Like

Leave a Reply

