Review: The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: April 28th 2015
Publisher: Arthur A. Levine Books
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 12+
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Historical, Fantasy, Romance, Competition, LGBT

BLURB:

Antony and Cleopatra. Helen of Troy and Paris. Romeo and Juliet. And now… Henry and Flora.

For centuries Love and Death have chosen their players. They have set the rules, rolled the dice, and kept close, ready to influence, angling for supremacy. And Death has always won. Always.

Could there ever be one time, one place, one pair whose love would truly tip the balance?

Meet Flora Saudade, an African-American girl who dreams of becoming the next Amelia Earhart by day and sings in the smoky jazz clubs of Seattle by night. Meet Henry Bishop, born a few blocks and a million worlds away, a white boy with his future assured—a wealthy adoptive family in the midst of the Great Depression, a college scholarship, and all the opportunities in the world seemingly available to him.

The players have been chosen. The dice have been rolled. But when human beings make moves of their own, what happens next is anyone’s guess.

Achingly romantic and brilliantly imagined, The Game of Love and Death is a love story you will never forget. Continue reading

Advertisements

Review: Silver in the Blood (Silver in the Blood, #1) by Jessica Day George

Silver in the Blood by Jessica Day George

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: NetGalley
Publication Date: July 7th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens
Point of View: 3rd Person, Feminine & Alternative
Recommended Age: 12+
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Historical, Paranormal, Werewolves, Cultural, Royalty

BLURB:

A New York Times bestselling author brings dark secrets to life in a lush new YA perfect for fans of Libba Bray or Cassandra Clare.

Society girls from New York City circa 1890, Dacia and Lou never desired to know more about their lineage, instead preferring to gossip about the mysterious Romanian family that they barely knew. But upon turning seventeen, the girls must return to their homeland to meet their relatives, find proper husbands, and—most terrifyingly—learn the deep family secrets of The Claw, The Wing, and The Smoke. The Florescus, after all, are shape-shifters, and it is time for Dacia and Lou to fulfill the prophecy that demands their acceptance of this fate . . . or fight against this cruel inheritance with all their might.

With a gorgeous Romanian setting, stunning Parisian gowns, and dark brooding young men, readers will be swept up by this epic adventure of two girls in a battle for their lives. Continue reading