Review: A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz


A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: NetGalley
Publication Date: August 4th 2015
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Recommended Age: 12+
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, War-Setting, Romance, Fairies

BLURB:

Sixteen-year-old Beckan and her friends are the only fairies brave enough to stay in Ferrum when war breaks out. Now there is tension between the immortal fairies, the subterranean gnomes, and the mysterious tightropers who arrived to liberate the fairies.

But when Beckan’s clan is forced to venture into the gnome underworld to survive, they find themselves tentatively forming unlikely friendships and making sacrifices they couldn’t have imagined. As danger mounts, Beckan finds herself caught between her loyalty to her friends, her desire for peace, and a love she never expected.

This stunning, lyrical fantasy is a powerful exploration of what makes a family, what justifies a war, and what it means to truly love.

REVIEW:

I was so excited to read this one, when it first appeared on Goodreads, but then my excitement dwindled when I saw the cover (I’m an unapologetic coverwhore) and now, after reading 25% of the story, I’m left with a feeling of complete confusion.

I remember very little of what I just read. The world-building lacked detail to an extreme point and the story seemed so messy with a do-this-do-that kind of plot. The characters were going from a point A to a point B with poor to no reason behind. Impertinent actions.

A History of Glitter and Blood needed of me a huge amount of concentration to follow its characters. It’s actually weird: I was reading, yet the words slipped from my mind right after having read them. It’s rare that I have this kind of experience with books (thank god), but I’m always left confounded when it happens.

Oh, and there were some illustrations/paintings/weird pictures inside the story. *clears throat* They weren’t necessary.

17 thoughts on “Review: A History of Glitter and Blood by Hannah Moskowitz

  1. Uh oh it’s a shame it couldn’t live upto your expectations.. I saw the cover of this before, and I did dismiss it at first glance. It doesn’t sound like my cup of tea either seeing your review.. Love the honest review Lola 🙂

    Like

  2. I was *this* close to requesting this on Netgalley, but I decided not to at the last moment. So glad I didn’t now! I know the illustrations would have seriously bothered me too. Great review!

    Like

  3. I am very very very very VERY GLAD I did not end up requesting this. I trusted my gut, and it rewarded me. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one. I have to admit I was also attracted to the synopsis, hence the last statement, but I had my DOUBTS. Hope your next read is 100% better Lola!

    Like

  4. UGH. This is not good. I have it, and I have to read it, especially since it is on my NG shelf TWICE for some reason. Maybe the paintings will make the book seem shorter? No? I am sorry this didn’t work for you. I am scared 😉

    Like

  5. There is nothing worse than being completely confused about what the heck you just read and it making no sense at all. Definitely makes you want to DNF it. Sorry this didn’t work out for you but hey, from one cover whore to another, never apologize for liking pretty things. 😛
    Have a lovely weekend Lola!

    Like

  6. Sorry to hear you didn’t like this and all in all it doesn’t look like something I would enjoy…. I also agree about the cover (I’m also a coverwhore… LOL). It’s a shame when a book doesn’t work for you. I wish we readers could like most of the books we read, that would be awesome hahaha

    Like

  7. Yikes! I am not a fan of that cover either but I am a fan of Hannah Moskowitz so hearing that this one just didn’t hold your interest upsets me! I really wish it could have *cries*. Hopefully your next read is much more enjoyable!

    Like

  8. Ah, I’m so sorry you didn’t like this, Lola! I hate the cover as well, but personally I really enjoyed the cluttered writing and the odd world building… Maybe I’m just weird like that? 😉 Hopefully your next read is better for you though!

    Like

  9. Uh I’m not happy at all. I have got this one for review as well, but still haven’t started it. I actually like the cover but I’m not happy that the characters are jumping around. Hopefully I’ll enjoyed it more. Great review 🙂

    Like

  10. Oh man, it sucks that you hated this one! I just got this ARC from NetGalley. I agree that the cover sucks, but I had high hopes because of the premise. Sigh.

    Like

  11. Aww man, it sucks that you didn’t like this book 😦 I’ve heard nothing but good things about Hannah Moskowitz and I LOVED the cover so I requested and received the ARC from Netgalley! *sob sob sob*

    Like

  12. Oh wow, this book doesn’t sound very memorable at all. I like the idea of it but it seems like this one won’t be for me. I hadn’t heard of it until now but I will make sure I pass on this one. World building is vital to me in a fantasy story and if not handled well then the book has already lost me 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

