Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas


A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Publisher
Publication Date: May 5th 2015
Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s
Point of View: 1st Person & Feminine
Recommended Age: 14+
Genres & Themes: New Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Fairies, Fairy Tale Retelling, Beauty and the Beast, Curse, Danger

BLURB:

A thrilling, seductive new series from New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas, blending Beauty and the Beast with faerie lore.

When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution for it. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow grows over the faerie lands, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.

Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and George R. R. Martin, this first book in a sexy and action-packed new series is impossible to put down!

REVIEW:

A richly imagined fairy tale retelling of Beauty and the Beast!

If you’re a lover of retellings mingling romance, danger, faerie mystical creatures and a heroine that shows a significant deal of courage throughout, then this is one title you will not want to miss out and will very likely considerably enjoy.

The world-building is inventive and detailed. The different Courts of faeries are an element that adds great originality to this story. At first, A Court of Thorns and Roses might appear similar to plenty of fantasy books already written out there but, the further you read, the more you come to descry its ingenious lines shaping the well-known classic sprinkled with beautiful themes and… sensuality.

What was missing for me was action. I wanted more of it, as well as some adventure and deadly dangerous situations, which we do get, in the first chapters, but otherwise not until a good part of the novel. The pacing is quite slow, for the author chose to take her time building the relationship between Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien and even Alis, a servant. Surprisingly, there weren’t as many characters as I expected. The world-building being focused on distinct Courts principally ruled by High Lords and dwelt by lesser faeries, I thought, deceptively so, that we were going to be introduced to so many of them!

I have to say that Sarah J. Maas’ writing is compelling. While she could have moderated her descriptions of paintings, for there were many of them and relatively long ones, even those didn’t bore me. Feyre, the heroine, is both a huntress and painter. Never have I seen this mix of skills before in one person. Her strength won’t go unnoticed and neither will her dauntlessness. There were moments in the story when I felt the need to growl at her, for her difficulty to obey orders – even if for her own protection – was bewildering!

It’s true what they say, Tamlin will make you swoon… *wink*

Recommended to fans of Cruel Beauty, East and Beauty.

————————————————

Pre-review:

Well, well, what do we have here?

description

Original, amazingly looking cover? Check!

‘‘Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.’’

Fairies? Check!

‘‘treacherous magical land she only knows about from legends’’

Magic + alternative world + some mystery perhaps? Check!

‘‘her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion’’

Love/hate relationship that, because it’s Sarah J. Maas, will blow our mind? Check!

‘‘But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it … or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.’’

DANGER. Brave heroine? CHECK CHECK CHECK!

Basically, it has everything to look for in a fantasy.

Please, do not disappoint.

description

Advertisements

22 thoughts on “Review: A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses #1) by Sarah J. Maas

  1. When I seen the 3.5 star rating my heart dropped, but after reading your review, I’ve come to the conclusion that your 3.5 rating and mine are different lol. * wipes sweat from forehead * I can’t wait to start this. I was trying to hold off, deciding to wait a little before the release date to begin. Now I have one more book to take down before I dive in! This will be my first time reading about Faeries so wish my luck lol.

    Like

  2. *bangs head against the table* Silly, silly, silly me ! I don’t know why but I was persuaded that CoTaR was the same book as Queen of shadows – I wanted so much to avoid spoilers in my beloved Throne of glass series that I skimmed reviews and only noticed it today. Thank you ! And I need vacation. And coffee.

    Like

  3. YES. You hit the nail on the head here Lola. I’ve been waiting to write my review for this one because I knew it was a 3.5 star rating for me as well; but I couldn’t exactly pinpoint where it was lacking. But now that you mention it, I think you are spot-on with your observation that it lacked action; and I think that’s where it fell for me as well now that I think about it. Thank you for sharing Lola, and fabulous review! ❤

    Like

  4. Ahhhh can’t wait to read this hahaha. I’m also intrigued by the huntress-painter combination. I’m glad you liked it Lola! 😀 😀 Amazing review! I’ll have to keep in mind that it’s slow paced though. That’s pretty different from Throne of Glass.

    Like

  5. I have the first series, well at last the 2 first books and I still need to read them (yes I’m that late I know) and I know that I need to do it soon to try this one thereafter. I’ll try!!!!

    Like

  6. I haven’t read a single book by Maas and I never thought NA could be fantasy to be honest. I’ve always related NA to contemporary for some reasons… But this sounds like something I would enjoy. Maybe I could give it a go! Lovely review, Lola!

    Like

  7. My review for this one just went up and I HAD to come over and check yours out^^ I seem to have liked this one a bit more than you did – but I agree that it was missing a little something, and I think you’re right that it was the action. For me, this story was inevitably compared to SJM’s other series and I still love ToG more than this so it didn’t get as high a rating for that reason. I LOVED Feyre, Tamlin, Lucien and Rhys, I loved the atmospheric and sensual 😉 feel to it. Wonderful review!

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    Like

  8. How amazingly beautiful is this cover.. it’s very pretty- I actually pre-ordered this one so I’m quite excited to read this one soon. I’m glad you enjoyed it for the most part, your review has me excited now! I love fairytale retellings, and this one sounds fantastic.

    Like

  9. Wait a second… this is a retelling?! How did I not know this before DD: I am definitely reading this book now. I haven’t read any of Maas’s books before and have been meaning to try her Throne of Glass series but this has to wait. I have a soft spot for retellings.

    Like

  10. Pingback: Best Ever Fairytale Retellings on Earth | Hit or Miss Books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s