Mini-Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1) by Maggie Stiefvater


The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Publication Date: September 18th 2012
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Point of View: 3rd Person & Alternative
Genres & Themes: Young Adult, Supernatural, Romance, Fate

BLURB:

“There are only two reasons a non-seer would see a spirit on St. Mark’s Eve,” Neeve said. “Either you’re his true love . . . or you killed him.”

It is freezing in the churchyard, even before the dead arrive.

Every year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them—not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

But Blue is drawn to Gansey, in a way she can’t entirely explain. He has it all—family money, good looks, devoted friends—but he’s looking for much more than that. He is on a quest that has encompassed three other Raven Boys: Adam, the scholarship student who resents all the privilege around him; Ronan, the fierce soul who ranges from anger to despair; and Noah, the taciturn watcher of the four, who notices many things but says very little.

For as long as she can remember, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love to die. She never thought this would be a problem. But now, as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

REVIEW:

The only character that I liked was Ronan. Which is… very ironic.

It might be time for Maggie Stiefvater and I to part ways.

Truly, there’s nothing actually ”wrong” with her style; it simply does not appeal to me. But, this was the kind of story that I would feel would be read in a better way if written at the 1st person POV instead of 3rd. There was this possibility to feel connected to the protagonists… but a slim and invisible barrier seemed to block that connection every time. Even Ronan: I might have ”liked” him and enjoyed reading about him, but I surely didn’t ”love” his character. He had too much of a poorly explained and justified negativity and bad behaviour.

Oh well, it happens. Onto the next one.

23 thoughts on “Mini-Review: The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle, #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. :(( I have all three books in this series so far but haven’t started them yet. I’ve heard her writing’s really different so I’m curious to see how I’ll like or not like it.

    Like

  2. I’ve only read one book by her and that was the German edition of Shiver, so I can’t really comment on the style. I think I’m still going to give this one a try, though.

    Like

  3. The Raven Boys is always popping up but I’ve avoided it because I read her Wolves of Mercy Falls (Shiver) Series and didn’t totally love it. Even with the first person narration Shiver uses I still had a very hard time connecting to her characters. Thank you for confirming that this one is probably not for me 🙂

    Like

  4. Ronan is a fabulous character and I promise the story does get better but, if you hated this one then I doubt you would like the others. I am so sorry this didn’t work for you!
    I really hope your next read is fabulous!!

    Like

  5. Uh oh. But really, I know you aren’t the only one who doesn’t click with Maggie’s writing. I know I love it (though I’ve only read The Scorpio Races of hers), but a good friend of mine has tried out a few of her books and can’t get into them either. Oh well! On to the next one, as you say 🙂

    Like

  6. It took me awhile to get into the writing, like i didn’t like it til i was in book 2 :/
    I felt like not a whole lot of good info was in book 1, the other books give you a better insight on why certain characters act like they do.

    But like you said, on to the next one 🙂

    brooke @ booklife4life 😀

    Like

  7. I’m glad a found another person who feels the same way. I really couldn’t get into this series at all at the time. I think I liked the character more so that the actual plot line. Though you have strength to continue reading this series. I sort of left it at that. Great honest review.

    Like

  8. I’m sorry that this one just didn’t work for you 😦 Personally, I adore the series, but I have a few friends who felt exactly like you did. It seems like Stiefvater is the kind of author you either love or you don’t. Funnily enough though, my favorite character is Ronan too 🙂 I hope your next read is/was a much better fit for you^^

    Micheline @ Lunar Rainbows Reviews

    Like

  9. Oh I’m sorry to see that this one wasn’t for you. I know many loved it but I haven’t tried this series myself. Only the faes one. It was nice. WHo knows maybe one day but I hope it will be better for me lol

    Like

  10. YES, someone I can relate to! I thought I was the only who didn’t like this book, I actually DNF’ed it. I didn’t like the plot at all, it was just teenage angst – hopefully your next book will be a hit for you. Great review Lola<3

    Like

  11. GIRL I SPIT OUT MY JUICE!! lmao. I actually lovedddd this book. I usually hate the 3rd person perspective, but as it turns out, her writing worked for me. Omg I thought I was the only one who liked Ronan’s charatcer! Sorry you didn’t like this either girl.

    Like

  12. Woahhhh Lola! People have loved this book…and here I was thinking I was the only one to give up on this book after the first two chapters 😛 I read the Wolves of Mercy falls series and found myself hating werewolves in general, thanks to the slow, sad narrative 😦 Maybe it’s time for a reread, eh? Oh well. Hope you like the next book you read ;P

    Like

  13. I’m sorry you didn’t like this one Lola, but again great job in giving your opinion even if it’s different ❤ I haven't ever actually read a Maggie Stiefvater book but personally the concepts in her story don't appeal to me, which I used to feel guilty about but not anymore, yay for not giving into book pressure hehe!

    Like

  14. So sorry to hear that this author doesn’t work out for you well! I have heard of this book and really do intend to try it sometime – it does seem like the kind of thing I would like. But not every book is for every person, so I hope your next read was better 🙂

    Like

  15. Oh, no. This review makes me so sad because The Raven Boys is one of my favourite reads so far 😦

    If you did like Ronan, though, I definitely suggest you read The Dream Thieves, because it’s told mainly from his perspective (albeit third person POV), and you get so much more insight into who he is, and why he’s the surly boy you meet in The Raven Boys.

    I can understand your feelings about perspective because most of the time i really don’t like third person POV because it just doesn’t give us that same familiarity, you know? But I think as you get deeper into this series, you see why the third person is needed.

    I hope you like TDT, if you do get around to reading it!

    Like

  16. I’ve realized that people who read Stiefvater either really like her work or really dislike it… I myself really love her writing style and I enjoy her books! For me her characters are really well thought and well written, and for some people the plot may be a little slow and boring but I guess that is the style of books that I like!

    Like

Leave a Reply

