Who Am I, Really?


I realised, some time ago, that I don’t talk that much about myself. I mean, sure, I do give my opinion on plenty of subjects throughout my reviews, but I don’t share much personal information with you at all. Or do many random slice of life posts. At all. And my About Me page isn’t very detailed.

I feel like you don’t know me. And I think you feel like you don’t know me too… Could it be?

So I decided to change that and tell you a little about myself. I am aware that I should have done this when I first created this blog, but better late than ever, no?

Name: My real name is actually Monica, but I decided to go by Lola because that’s how I first called myself when I created my Goodreads account back in 2012 (wasn’t comfortable divulging my real name) so I just kept it since then. I feel like having a ‘‘nickname’’ actually bonds me to the imaginary world of books even more, as strange as it may sound.

Age: 17 going on 18!

Birthday: June 23rd (This year, it coincides with prom.)

Facts:

– I live in Canada!
– I’m a ‘‘finissant’’ (Senior, I think?) in high school!
– I attend a French high school.
– English is my favorite language.
– I am Romanian and speak Romanian as well as French (naturally), English (duh) and a little bit of Spanish.
– I live with my mom and brother, Bogdan.
– I used to have a dog (Shih Tzu) but, when we moved out from our house, we had to give him to another family. I loved him so much. His name was Paco.
– I had a hamster named Ken once… and I fed him dog food and he died 😦 I was young…
– I started reading at 11 years old! I got my love of reading from my mom.
– I’m not very sportive at all, but I love watching and used to do gymnastics but now I mostly stick to rollerblading (started at 5 years old – I’m a pro, hééé).

description

(That's not me.)

– I love M/M romance, yaoi, LGBT!

description

– I don’t know what I want to become later in life, but I was accepted in a Languages profile at a CEGEP and contemplate becoming a librarian, oral translator, working in International Affairs or in a publishing company.
– Sometimes I spend hours searching for cool gifs/pictures.

description

– Although manga is one of my favorite genres, I can’t find it to enjoy watching anime. I get so bored. The only one I succeeded to watching 100+ episodes of is Fairy Tail but I quitted watching it too… But that’s okay since, for me, manga is enough. But I love anime gifs!
– I LOVE blogging and reviewing and interacting with you, guys!

That’s it for now, but I hope you feel like I am less of a stranger to you now. 🙂

26 thoughts on “Who Am I, Really?

  1. Hey there Monica! Heee. Wow, so I am older than you? :O I’m turning 20 this year and… I don’t really want to talk about that. Haha. XD It must be really amazing to have a mom who loves books! Basically, I’m the only bookworm in our family and it’s just sad. Lol

    I think you’re a really sweet person. Thanks for sharing this information to us. 🙂

    Like

  2. I love the name Lola, so good choice 😛 Good idea getting out of gym! My brother does it, and they do around 16 hours a week. Even the 8 year old. You dodged a bullet there 🙂 Having prom on your birthday would be so cool!!! Actually, just prom in general would be awesome. If you don’t bring a date, force all your friends to go alone too, so you can party the night away with them 🙂

    Like

  3. Forget about being a librarian, it doesn’t pay off, lol ! Except if you really want to, of course. The shopkeeper beside the library used to have a Shih-tzu, and that cute little Shih-tzu used to pee every morning on the library door ! My coworker henced call him “ch… d’ssus”, as you can imagine 😉 My name isn’t Iza either (it’s Isabelle, close enough), but even in real life, people call me Iza now – don’t you think it’s great to be able to choose your own name ? It’s good to know you a little better, Lola !

    Like

  4. Uhm, do you know that Lola means grandmother here at Philippines? Haha. I just feel like sharing. Anyway, Lola and Monica are both lovely names. 🙂 This is such a great post! I’m so jealous you know a lot of languages (hmmm maybe I should start to learn) and wow I’m older than you!!!! 😀 I’m pleased to meet you Lola/Monica ❤

    Like

  5. Ha – I don’t talk about myself much either but I love hearing about other people so I guess only fair to say something about myself now and then. I had no idea you were so young! And having prom on your birthday could be kind of fun — hope it is!
    Thanks so much for stopping by! Jen @ YA Romantics

    Like

  6. YOU ADORABLE THING. I know what you mean about the nickname thing. My real name is Jennifer but I go by Jae in the book community (it’s not too far off though hehe). Love this post! I’m sometimes the opposite when it comes to anime vs. manga though I think it’s because I started off watching anime wayyy before I started reading. I am amazed at how many languages you know wow. You’re turning 18 this year! How exciting, you’ll officially be an “adult” haha 😉 Thanks for sharing this with us, Lola ❤ I'm so use to calling you Lola now but Monica is also a pretty name!

    Like

  7. Hey – we share a birthday! We’re twins (except I am a fair bit older lol). 😉 I tend to not share a lot about myself on my blog either but I have started doing more personal posts. Thanks for sharing a little bit about yourself. 🙂

    Like

  8. Ah, you’re so young, I envy you! I’m turning 21 this year. Lol you’re Romanian, I don’t know why, but I always thought that you were Mexican, haha. I’m the same as you I love manga, but anime really bores me. They don’t live up to the paper version. You should have done that post eons ago it was nice knowing more about you!

    Like

  9. Is it weird that today I was just thinking about who you were, AND NOW I KNOW. WHOOP. I’m surprised, like really surprised. First off, you speak French! Are you living around Montreal? Somewhere in Quebec? Or just in Canada. Wow I could understand you. Wow. Ok but not the Romanian part or Spanish. Moving on. YAY INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS. YA M/M. YA MANGA. I love this post! I’ll just keep calling you Lola for now unless you want it differently 🙂

    Like

  10. Thanks so much for sharing, Lola! I used to use a pseudonym on Goodreads, but after a while I just stuck to my real name. 🙂 HOW CAN YOU NOT LOVE ANIME?! Anime is freaking awesome. Okay, it’s been a while since I’ve watched anime myself (life keeps me busy), but there are lots of unique stories and characters who you can really get attached to. 😉

    Like

  11. Hi Lola! I love both names too 😉 and I used to have a bf who had the same name as your brother, a long time ago 🙂 I love languages too, I speak English, Spanish, French and Russian (my native), I reckon French is my favourite though! Kate x

    Like

  12. So good to meet you, ahaha! I loved this post and you really are a multi lingual person! I love languages myself and can learn them if I bother… I just am rubbish at grammar in foreign languages for some reason…

    Like

  13. This was a great post! Wow, you speak so many languages, I’m so envious of you! And *gasp* your real name’s Monica! Hehe, pretty cool that you have a nickname for the blogging community, but your real name’s really pretty too 🙂

    Like

  14. Thanks for the follow! I’m quite the newbie to the book review game, hope you can find something you enjoy (even if I am reviewing children’s books!)

    Like

Leave a Reply

