Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan


Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: Borrowed
Publication Date: April 6th 2010
Publisher: Dutton Books
Point of View: 1st person, Male & Alternative
Genres & Themes: YA, Contemporary, Romance, LGBT, Humour, Friendship, coming-of-age, Family, Music

BLURB:

Will Grayson meets Will Grayson. One cold night, in a most unlikely corner of Chicago, two strangers are about to cross paths. From that moment on, their world will collide and Iives intertwine.

It’s not that far from Evanston to Naperville, but Chiacago suburbanites Will Grayson and Will Grayson might as well live on different planets. When fate delivers them both to the same surprising crossroads, the Will Graysons find their lives overlapping and hurtling in new and unexpected directions. With a push from friends new and old – including the massive, and massively fabulous, Tiny Cooper, offensive lineman and musical theater auteur extraordinaire – Will and Will begin building toward respective romantic turns-of-heart and the epic production of history’s most awesome high school musical.

REVIEW:

Two teenagers, both named Will Grayson, coincidentally meet at a much unexpected place.

And their life will never be the same again.

description
One is shy and doesn’t want to be in a relationship. The other has depression and seeks love…in Isaac. But, is finding love on the internet the right thing? Could it be that Isaac may not be who he claims to be?

It was an emotional but also full of life read. Containing the kind of atmosphere that can make you smile but also cry at the very same moment.

The two main main characters, and narrators, are different in almost every way from one another. Yet, the fact that they were two opposite persons, made it interesting to read about each one of them and comparing them. While it was inevitable to do such thing, the results were surprising.

description
The fact is, I can’t even admit who I preferred for they were, both, likable and had this character development that is more than well thought of. We can see it coming yet it still is impressive and welcome.

Tiny is also a main character but not a narrator. He is actually the reason why Will Grayson #1 and #2 have a character development in the first place. He may seem to you full of himself at first (…and he kind of his) but you will absolutely learn to adore him. To say that he is important in the story is an understatement.

description
Sincerely, I thought the romance was not captivating. It was just…banal. Sure, there are cute moments that will make you smile and sigh but they’re not breathtaking or what I call original. It is a main theme of the story, but I am now talking about the romantic one and, except for this latter, there are some others that are incidentally included. It is certainly not like not being hooked by the romance will keep any one of you from enjoying this read.

The plot was quite simple but effective and even unique! I mean, rarely do I read about LGBT + drama (as in real drama) + gay and straight guy being best friends. It was enjoyable but unfortunately very slow. You see, even the writing is fantastic but, the fact that it is so slow (and I mean it) does keep me from giving it a higher rating. I did like this book but there are some scenes that do drag and could have been shortened.

description
It’s quite some reading experience, this Will Grayson, Will Grayson book. It has a lot of humour, a special one though that may only appeal to some potential readers, and it also contains these sentences that will make you take a short pause and think a little about them. Probably asking youself: ”What is the author aiming for by writing that?” And it makes you dig deeper to find the phrases in question’s significance. Which I loved. Reading books that make you think are the ones that you’ll remember after, at least in my opinion.

Absolutely recommended! As an advice, don’t even look at the rating, if you’re the kind that is discouraged by a 3 1/2 star one. I liked it, would read it again but, when having much time, since it is a slow-paced story. To wrap up, great characters, unsurprising romance, wonderful themes, vivid atmosphere, slowness, not complex but unique plot still and an unforgettable read!

Art source.

31 thoughts on “Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan

  1. I do agree about the books that make you think are the ones you remember the most 🙂 I didn’t know about this book/author, so I’m glad you shared it, I’m adding it to my list 😉

    Like

  2. I think I’d have a hard time keeping the two main characters apart! Does the author use different nicknames to distinguish them? Otherwise, that would be confusing… That point aside, great job on your review! You make it difficult to pass up on this title. Happy Friday, Lola!

    Carmel @ Rabid Reads

    Like

  3. The writing examples sound great and are full of voice. I remember seeing this one around, but I didn’t know much about it. It does seem like a good read and it is good to know that the pace is slower, but the book is worth it. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  4. I tried to read this one last year, but didn’t get too far in as there were one too many Will Grayson’s in my opinion. I was getting a little confused and put it aside until I was in the mood. I think I need to pick this one up again. I found that I prefer John Green’s writing to that of David Levithan, together they just didn’t mash well for me. Hopefully I can pick this up again soon. Brilliant review Lola, really enjoyed it ❤

    Like

  5. Good to know you liked this one and would recommend it. After finishing Paper Towns I was a little upset with John Green for disappointing me in a way. Since many people say Paper Towns is one of their favs I thought it would be spectacular and not at all! so even though I wanted to read more John Green I also took the decision of staying away from him until I forget about Paper Towns LOL (not the book, but the two main characters… arggg, so annoying!). Once I decide to pick one of his books again, maybe I’ll choose this one. Thanks for the review! 😉

    Like

  6. Thanks so much for following my blog (bookyum.net). I’m glad you did because I’m always looking for new blogs to follow. And I loved this book! It’s one of John Green’s less popular books, but I think it’s one of my favorites of his.

    Like

  7. For whatever reason, I’m just not a fan of this author’s writing style. I don’t know why!! I’ve tried several of his stories and, while I love the concept, I just couldn’t get into any of them. *sigh* But yay for you enjoying it! That’s the best thing about books, you know?

    Like

  8. Great review Lola, I especially love those adorable quotes ^-^ I’m actually going to be reading this one soon since it’s been unread on my shelf for so long. hope I like it and I’m glad you did!

    Like

  9. I think I am going to have to give this one a miss. I haven’t hated or loved any of the two John Green books I read, and I do know this is co-written but I am not sure. The idea doesn’t gather my interest and I am really someone who doesn’t like a slow paced read. I do love great characters and character development, but I think I will skip this one over :/

    Like

Leave a Reply

