The Reader Problems Tag


The Reader Problems TagThe beautiful Noelia @ A Day in Bookland tagged me to do this tag and I did not hear about it before, so thank you, girl! I have enjoyed answering the questions!

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?
Oh boy. Well, technically, I only have 100 books on my GR TBR (thank god!) but it still is very hard to choose. I usually take a moment to think what I’m in the mood for and then pick the one that seems more interesting.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quite or are you committed?
I quit. There are so many books in the world that are waiting for me. If you’re not enjoying it, then you’re not enjoying it. Plus, it is very rare that my opinion of the book changes.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close, but so far away on your Goodreads reading challenge. Do you try to catch up and how?
I do actually! When I give myself a challenge and think to be able to achieve it, then I do everything possible to fulfil it. I would normally read lots of manga and graphic novels. Short stories too. heh

4. The covers of a series you love do. not. match. How do you cope?
Oh, it happens to me a lot lot lot, because I started buying used books from time to time. If it’s one of my FAVORITE series, then I will buy the right book that matches but, if I just relatively ‘love’ it, I’ll be disappointed and then carry on. (I’m not a rich girl.)

5. Everyone and their mother love a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?
Like Noelia, I go on Goodreads. Then I look for negative opinions to see if some didn’t enjoy the book for the same reasons as I and then maybe discuss about it. But I’m very often disappointed with ‘popular’ books so now I’m just oh whatever…

6. You’re reading a book and you are about to start crying in public. How do you deal?
Well, honestly, it’s very rare, VERY rare that I cry, let alone in public. I guess I’ll bend my head and sob quietly and, if someone asks me what’s wrong, I’ll point the book. I’ll always blame the book 😉

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a synopsis on Goodreads? Cry in frustration?!?!?!?!
Normally, I’ll just need to know how it ended. If I don’t remember even that, then, yeah, spoilery summary!

8. You do not want anyone. ANYONE. Borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people nope when they ask?
It’s always awkward for me…because it’s always acquaintances that ask me to borrow a book and, when I tell them no, they look at me with hurt and incomprehension in their eyes and explaining why you don’t want people to borrow your books is a little hard. But I do try and then they just look at me like I’m ridiculous. Some people just don’t get it.

9. Reading ADD. You’ve picked up and put down 5 books in the last month. How do you get over your reading slump?
My reading slumps never last so long. Humm…I usually pick something light up – manga, graphic novel, and voilà! Before reviewing, there were times when I stopped reading for six months…I don’t know how I survived.

10.There are so many new books coming out that you’re dying to read! How many do you actually buy?
I honestly seldom buy new hardcopy books, because I don’t want to accumulate books that I might not enjoy or not that much in my library. I prefer having a smaller library but with books I LOVE. What I do is that I borrow them at the library or buy the ebook if it’s cheap and then decide if it’s work an hardcover or not. I don’t buy more than 2-3 books per month, exception applied for Christmas and birthday.

11. After you’ve bought the new books you can’t wait to get to, how long they sit on your shelf before you get to them?
*whispers* *whispers* A year…? I know I know I know…but I feel like, if I own books (in hardcopy), I’ll have them forever so them staying on my shelves untouched is not that bad. Is it? Hmm…If they are in ebook form, normally 1-2 weeks.

Well that was fun! Those questions were quite accurate to a reader’s book related problems.

I tag

Jolien @ The Fictional Reader

Joy @ Joyousreads

and

Molly @ Woven Magic !

*Do it only if you’re interested, don’t feel obliged to.

PS. I changed the design for my blog, because I felt like the previous one didn’t represent me that much. It felt too *obscure.* Well, it’s actually not finished yet, and I still have some modifications to do, but I really hope that you like it. ❤

33 thoughts on “The Reader Problems Tag

  1. Wow I am envious of you for only having 100 books on your TBR! TELL ME YOUR SECRETSSSSS. Yes my friend asked to borrow my Percy Jackson books and I was like HECK NO. NO ONE TOUCHES MA BABIES.

    Great answers, Lola! <33

    Like

  2. I get you with not wanting other people to borrow your books! I still have yet to master the art of just saying no- without offending anyone – or looking completely insane, lol 😄

    Like

  3. Oh, this sounds like so much fun! Loved the answers. And 100 books? Gosh, tell us your secrets. SPILL THE BEANS. I have no idea how some people persevere through books that are just not going good – I’m with you on that, I’d quit it. Like, wow, book, YOU SHOULD HAVE PLEASED ME WHEN YOU HAD THE CHANCE TO.

    I like the new design of your blog, Lola! I actually liked the previous one too, but I understand what you mean about it not exactly represent your personality. 😀

    Like

  4. I LIKE THE NEW DESIGN THOUGH! ❤

    I have a really controlled (hahahaha) TBR on Goodreads as well! It's at 200 I think and most a new releases for this year so they're probably (definitely LOL) going to get read. WHICH MEANS I CAN ADD MORE YAY! I haven't slumped big time for a while BUT I definitely slump throughout the week. I read a lot from Saturday till about Monday and then I slump for the rest of the week. I wish I could just read consecutively but alas, it isn't for me. I can never remember what happens in the book before so I often just plough in and go with it. Which means I probably don't remember anything for like 70% of the book hahaha

    Hilarious answers my dear! ❤

    Like

  5. Love you answers! I wish I had only 100 books on my TBR LOL and I really admire that you can quit a book with no problem whatsoever but I just can’t and I wish I could because it could have saved me a lot of time. Sometimes my friends/family look at me like I’m insane when I tell them my reasons behind not lending books but I just don’t care; they are my babies and I need them in perfect conditions hahahaha
    Oh, and I think graphic novels or short stories are a good idea to get out of a reading slumps. I’ve never tried that before, maybe I should when the slump gets out of control hahahaha

    Like

  6. I hadn’t seen this tag before, thanks for tagging me! 🙂

    I’m such a mood reader, I plan to read one book then at the last minute chose another. I wish I could quit books! Yeah cheapness comes before matching covers, even if they’re annoying. I used to always reread before a new release, but now I never have time. I just read and hope it makes sense. I don’t read my new books right away unless it’s a series either.

    Also, I love your new theme! The birds are so cute!

    Like

  7. OHMIGOD, most of them are meeee! Except 100? HOW? HOW? Tell me your secret. And I ususally don’t give up if I’m halfway because I start to think on the effort I’ve put in reading the first half which is stupid but then I’m too. Happy new year and I DO like the new style, I was totally gonna comment on the birds before I saw yours. Now I’m not. -_- Hehehe.

    Like

  8. I love your answers! I use to finish every book I started and about a year ago I said screw it and stopped. There is no reason I should have to suffer through a book just because I don’t want to say I gave up on it. Like you said, there are just way too many great books out there that deserve my time instead.

    Like

  9. I’m definitely in the same situation as you when it comes to buying books! I really prefer getting them from the library instead, because staring at a book I didn’t much like on my bookshelf really bugs me. And of course, when I do buy books that my library doesn’t have, they spend a lot of time on the shelf before getting read! It’s a definite problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

