Review: Glitches (The Lunar Chronicles, #0.5) by Marissa Meyer


Glitches by Marissa Meyer

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Received: bought
Publication Date: December 5th 2011
Publisher: Tor.com
Genres & Themes: YA, Short Story, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Fairy Tale Retelling, Cinderella, Family

BLURB:

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. In Glitches, a short prequel story to Cinder, we see the results of that illness play out, and the emotional toll that takes on Cinder. Something that may, or may not, be a glitch…

REVIEW:

description

(Isn’t that an adorable art work, by the way? So very charming and representing Cinder accurately enough with great talent, in my opinion!)

It’s only after finishing this novella that I realized how much I’ve missed reading about Cinder. I have finished book #1 in The Lunar Chronicles series a little more than a year ago and, somehow, my brain had a glitch for I stopped reading further. Damn glitch.

It doesn’t matter now anymore, because reading this had me remember why this is such a popular and loved series among book lovers. The reason why I’ve read this today is because I want to start Scarlet soon! But next will follow novella #1.5…oh dear, I both love and hate novellas. Sometimes you just want to get to the sequel as fast as you can.

About this #0.5 short story, it is one of the rare ones that are actually introducing a story well and giving more perception for different subjects, having read Cinder before. I loved seeing Cinder being introduced to the girls and the stepmother and how Peony beautifully reacted to her arrival. She’s such a memorable character. You can’t resist her innocent looks.

What I would have preferred there to be is more scenes with the father and especially some giving me the possibility to comprehend him a little more and why he chose to adopt her…He is a mystery. Also, I don’t remember if in book #1 we have the chance to discover Adri’s motives to taking such advantage of Cinder. I can understand them being poor and her wanting to make Cinder work for her food, but she never gave her a chance. It’s like the minute she saw her, she wanted her gone. I know that, originally, or, in every adaptation of Cinderella, she may not have had her reasons explained either and that’s fine, I guess, but my inner self always wants to understand people – characters – in order to enjoy a book more. Like I said, I’ve read book #1 more than a year ago, so maybe I’m biased somehow in my own judgement, but I don’t remember Adri ever telling Cinder why she hates her so much.

The writing is so engaging. I can’t believe how much I love this author’s style! I remember not enjoy Cinder all that much, at first, because I expected some EPIC romance when what I got was a predictable and expected one, but I still couldn’t stop reading and opening the book again, if it ever happening that I had to close it for some reason. I was really torn in my decision to either give it three or four stars but, when I remembered the writing, my decision was quickly made.

Of course, let’s not forget this is a short story portraying Cinder’s approach to the family and making a link with ‘glitches’ which means that we won’t get exceptional and interesting descriptions about everything world-building related or having it being revealed in fullness. But what we do get is satisfying still. We also witness Iko coming back to life!
Worth reading! A very pleasant novella that will make you love Cinder even more! What is most delightful about it is that it contains some charming scenes with Peony and Cinder interacting with each other which I think are priceless. Enjoy!

PS. If I ever write a book, I want the cover to be designed by the same artist who did this one…because, oh wow, it is so breathtaking.

Lovely art source.

4 thoughts on “Review: Glitches (The Lunar Chronicles, #0.5) by Marissa Meyer

  1. I love that art! Yes, you have to read Scarlet and Cress! I read the novels first then went back, so I don’t think it matters. My favorite short story was .6 the little android. I don’t remember if the stepmother had a reason either. I wish her step father had lived, I liked him. Iko’s my favorite character! The cover looks very manga like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

