Review: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins


Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

My rating: 5 of 5 BRILLIANT stars
Received: bought
Publication Date: December 2nd, 2010
Publisher: Speak
POV: 1st person & female
Pacing: just okay
Genres & Themes: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Traveling, Friendship, Love

BLURB:

Can Anna find love in the City of Light?
Anna is happy in Atlanta. She has a loyal best friend and a crush on her coworker at the movie theater, who is just starting to return her affection. So she’s less than thrilled when her father decides to send her to a boarding school in Paris for her senior year. But despite not speaking a word of French, Anna meets some cool new people, including the handsome Étienne St. Clair, who quickly becomes her best friend. Unfortunately, he’s taken —and Anna might be, too. Will a year of romantic near misses end with the French kiss she’s waiting for?

REVIEW:

One lovely word: Étienne

description

Sweet sweet sweet.

I might just have fallen in love.

This story equals exactly: Friday night + rain outside + chick flick + Skittles + chocolate + popcorn + comfortable couch + lovely boyfriend/friends. HEAVEN.

10 Things You’ll Find:

1– A main character that has personality

2– A swoon-worthy love interest

3– Some beautiful friendly relationships

4– Secondary characters that are truly unforgettable

5– A setting you won’t resist (it’s Paris, guys, PARIS!)

6– A plot that doesn’t lack of originality

7– Lovely humour that makes a delightful atmosphere

8– A more than pleasant writing style that doesn’t do repetition

9– No moment of boredom!

10– A new favourite series to fangirl over…

Such a relaxing and absolutely worth reading story. I’m very picky with my contemporaries, since I had so many bad experiences and try to learn from them and avoid subjects I don’t feel comfortable reading about such as raping, cheating, polygamy, etc. (Those were only examples, doesn’t mean the story contains all of them.) That’s why I waited so much before reading this. That, and the negative reviews.

I first discovered it last year and heard that there is cheating in the story which made me wince a little. A lot, actually. At first, I didn’t want to even slightly touch it. But, at the same time, people cheating on others happens frequently in our society so, not tolerating those kind of situations in my reads made me realize that I get quite limited on books I ‘can’ read. So I got passed that. To be honest, the cheating in this book did not bother me that much because 1) it was realistic, 2) the guy was a dick and 3) means the girl concerned was then free of the guy in question! Of course, it isn’t pretty but it’s not that dramatic or taking many many pages.

Except for that cheating situation I was referring to above, it’s really the kind of read that will make you smile and smile and smile some more, but also feel concerned when necessary because, even though it’s light overall, there are some scenes here and there that are more serious and sad, but not unbearably sad.

Another thing that I really appreciated was the fact that I actually learned new information about authors especially. For example, I had no idea the author of The Little Prince, Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, died in a plane crash! How awful but pertinent information to learn, in my opinion. (Anything concerning authors of classics is pertinent to my eyes.)

Very recommended, especially to every YA contemporary romance fan out there. You may also enjoy Wish You Were Italian.

Bonne lecture!

Art source.

My review on Goodreads.

36 thoughts on “Review: Anna and the French Kiss (Anna and the French Kiss, #1) by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Nice review! 🙂 This book didn’t impress me as much personally, but I totally agree about the setting. Paris itself is beautiful, and I liked how we got to “explore” the city along with Anna. Do you plan on reading Lola anytime soon?

    Like

  2. How cute was this book, right?! Everything Perkins writes just gives me little butterflies!! I loved Anna when I first read it yeeeeeaaaars ago but having returned to it this year for a reread (I needed to hype myself up for Isla), it just didn’t CLICK with me anymore. I still loved it, Anna and Étienne because they had such a realistic chemistry. But I don’t know…I suppose the themes in it just weren’t for me anymore 😦 But it definitely gives the equivalent happiness of a chick flick which I just love!! I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, hun! <33 Fantastic review 🙂

    Like

  3. YES!!!! You finally read it. I’m so glad you read it. It’s awesome right!!! I mean really really awesome and lovable. I so love Etienne even if he’s short. He’s just so adorable and charming and all adjectives. I actually regret that I gave it a 4. he-he. That’s because I was saving the 5 for the third book. ha-ha lolx. XD. I can’t wait for your to read Lola and the Boy Next Door. Etienne will be there again and firing all his humor. Okay, I have to stop now! Just read Lola already….. 😉

    Like

  4. WooHoo! I’m doing a happy dance right now because you liked the book! Is one of my favourites and I am too a little bit picky when it comes to contemporaries (because is not my fav genre, to be honest). Either way, I found Anna and The French Kiss unforgettable, and it made me wanna go to Paris so badly and do a tour of all the places Anna visited (I will one day).

    Like

  5. Every time I find someone who loved Anna and the French Kiss, or any book of Stephanie Perkins, I do some cheer dancing on my mind. I love Anna and the French Kiss. It’s one of my all-time favorites and in some ways, it changed my life. I can’t even explain it. Isla and the Happily Ever After is also amazing but Anna remains my favorite among the three. I’m so glad you enjoyed this, Lola. 🙂

    Like

  6. I didn’t love this one as much as I’d hoped but still! I suffered the cutesies and swoons sometimes myself. If I didn’t dislike Etienne as much as I did, I admit I would have fallen head over heels for him. EVEN HIS NAME IS SEXY. Im definitely checking out the book you mentioned.

    Like

  7. I feel like I’m one of the very few people left on the planet (perhaps a slight exaggeration) that haven’t read this book yet lol and I am yet to hear one bad thing about it, so I shall have to move it up my list! Great review! 🙂

    Like

  8. I don’t usually do contemporary, but I do like comedy and if I’m going to try a contemporary this might just be the one. I’d heard that it was exceptionally fluffy, so I wasn’t sure, but fluffy is better than cried my eyes out which seems to be a trend among contemporaries. *here this book ripped my heart out, it’s so good* no thank you. Nice review Lola. 🙂

    Like

  9. Yeah isn’t that crazy about Saint-Exupery! Irony BLOWS!

    I’m happy you enjoyed this book, I was even aware that there were negative reviews for this books!

    Like

    • (I wasn’t done typing!)

      I recently read Lola and the Boy Next Door and some of my favorite parts involved the sneak peeks of Anna and Etienne! Those two are just perfection! ❤ ❤ ❤

      I'll have to check out Wish You Were Italian, I love these study abroad books!
      Amber Elise @Du Livre

      Like

  10. So glad you liked it. I love this book too. And Lola was pretty amazing too, but I did think Lola was a bit like St. Claire here. Great review! 🙂

    Like

  11. Oh I so love the fact that you loved this one Lola! I remember giving it a shot a few months ago (after dismissing it for its cover) and LOVING it so much! I literature could just not get enough! Glad you felt the same way too! 🙂

    Like

  12. Aaaah, this is one of my favorites! I definitely have to agree, this book is such a ‘comfort’ read and gives me such a warm and fuzzy feeling while reading it. You definitely have to check out the rest of the companion books — Lola and the Boy Next Door is reaaallly good even if it is quite different (but there’s more Etienne and Anna in it!), and I’ve been meaning to start Isla and the Happily Ever After for a while now.

    Like

  13. Ah, I read this book back in August. 🙂 I really loved the first half of the book, then the second half more or less ticked me off extremely. I didn’t like Anna very much due to some hypocrisy, the secondary characters at times seemed like simple plot devices (Amanda, Ellie), and Etienne was a huge jerk to both Anna and Ellie and the cheating just, ugh, frustrated me to no end. Regardless I rated it three stars. I’m happy you loved it so much though.

    The setting was perfect at least. 😀 Totally want to go to Paris even more than before.

    Like

  14. I feel like the only person on the planet who hasn’t read this yet! I haven’t picked it up yet because it sounds so chick lit-y and I don’t usually do very well with chick lit. BUT your review has definitely convinced me to give it a try – even if it’s a bit out of my normal reading range. Plus, I love the sound of the setting and the romance! Thanks for sharing Lola and, as always, BRILLIANT review! ❤

    Like

  15. Great review Lola! I’ve wanted to read this series for a long time, but never got into it. I need to give it another shot. Thanks for the warning about the cheating, I had no idea that was in it! Nonetheless I like the sound of the cute romance and the setting.

    Like

  16. Yay! Glad you enjoyed it! I personally loved Lola even more, hope you continue to enjoy the rest of the series! (I still need to pick up Isla, I need to read it so bad because JOSH and ARTIST *sigh*)

    Like

  17. I had this book borrowed from the library but didn’t get a chance to read it before it was due AND I couldn’t renew it cause it was already on hold *cries*. Glad you loved this one, the book sounds wonderful! A swoony hero from Paris, France? Um. YES PLEASE. I normally don’t like to read cheating/love triangles but when the third person is an asshole or never present in the book, I find that I’m okay with it. Lovely review, Lola 🙂

    Like

  18. What a unique and fun review! I too loved this book. Have you read the next too in the series? I was one of the few readers who liked Lola even more, but I haven’t read Isla yet.

    Like

Leave a Reply

