Review: Hexed (Hexed #1) by Michelle Krys


Hexed by Michelle Krys

My rating: 1 of 5 stars
Received: borrowed
Publication Date: June 10th 2014
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Genres & Themes: YA, Supernatural, Witches, Magic, Romance, Action.

BLURB:

If high school is all about social status, Indigo Blackwood has it made. Sure, her quirky mom owns an occult shop, and a nerd just won’t stop trying to be her friend, but Indie is a popular cheerleader with a football-star boyfriend and a social circle powerful enough to ruin everyone at school. Who wouldn’t want to be her?

Then a guy dies right before her eyes. And the dusty old family Bible her mom is freakishly possessive of is stolen. But it’s when a frustratingly sexy stranger named Bishop enters Indie’s world that she learns her destiny involves a lot more than pom-poms and parties. If she doesn’t get the Bible back, every witch on the planet will die. And that’s seriously bad news for Indie, because according to Bishop, she’s a witch too.

Suddenly forced into a centuries-old war between witches and sorcerers, Indie’s about to uncover the many dark truths about her life—and a future unlike any she ever imagined on top of the cheer pyramid.

REVIEW:

description

Finally, I’m done with it. And him.

I will never ever ever read it again.

And I will never ever ever read the sequel.

EVERY character, except for Indigo’s mom, is despicable and I hated them all, especially Bishop, the most slap-worthy character I’ve encountered this year. He’s all on making jokes (BAD ONES) every time. In every scene. Even when they’re in danger. I was always wondering why? Why is he doing that? Does he think he’s funny somehow? Or is he just one completely immature person?

Indigo…girl, you need a wake up call. She’s always thinking what everyone could think of her. She doesn’t want to help a girl, Paige, because she’s afraid people will start to ditch her. OH NO! They could think she’s hanging out with a ‘loser’, as the author kept describing her, and no one will ever speak to her again.

Please.

You know, this book is actually not that bad if we stop thinking about the characters for a second. It’s fast-paced and has a good writing. The problem is what the author wrote about and the characters (that I kept wanting to shake!), of course.

The thing is this is the kind of book that, if I had a teen on my own (won’t happen before many many years), I wouldn’t let her/him read the book. Why? Because there is no wonderful message or something good that could stick with her/him or inspire her/him. It only makes us learn throughout the book that life in high school is a bitch, that we have to act and be cool to be popular and respected,that geeky people, like Paige, are treated poorly and are ‘at the bottom’ and that people are cheated and lied to constantly.

Sure, Indigo and Paige become ‘friends’, at some point. STILL, Indigo said some not very nice things about her and she doesn’t even act like a true friend to Paige when this latter is always there if Indigo needs any help. I felt so so bad for Paige but what I didn’t like is that the author made her sound annoying and like a stalker when all she wants, deep inside her, is a friend.

Another thing that I had problem with is…the whole story. I mean, in the end, I realized that everything that happened wasn’t supposed to happen, that it could have been easily avoided. I mean…everything they did ended up being for nothing, when they discovered the truth!

Also, beware: cliffhanger.

Would you consider voting for this review on Goodreads, if it were helfpul?

Gif source.

62 thoughts on “Review: Hexed (Hexed #1) by Michelle Krys

  1. Oh, I love reading ranty reviews! I mean, when they’re justified, of course. Which this one certainly seems to be. It’s like the author/publisher never considered “What sort of girl reads books again? Oh right. The GEEKY ones. Maybe we shouldn’t insult them or put the ‘popular-type’ character on an unjustifiably high pedestal.”
    Really, you’ve completely turned me off this book, and I’m glad for it 🙂

    Like

  2. Sorry this was such a disappointment for you Lola! Indigo sounds like a tricky character to be sure–shallow and concerned more with her reputation than with being a good person or a good friend–which is always frustrating to read about. Realistic in many ways though, I’ve known a few girls like that growing up and they pissed me off then just as they do now:) Hope your next read is AMAZING!

    Like

  3. I’ve heard a lot about this book and when I say a lot I mean, a lot of negative things about it. I need strong, likeable characters and this one doesn’t have that so I know I wouldn’t get along all that great reading it. Great review!

    Like

  4. I personally love books with a message, but I don’t feel like all books need to have one. Some are just pure entertainment. However, this book sounds too annoying to even be that. The premise wasn’t all that bad, though, so it’s always a sad when the actual book sucks.

    I would have loved a book like this, but I don’t think it would work for me with these characters. I hope your next read is much much better! 🙂

    Like

  5. I am so sad there are so many low ratings for this book. When it first hit Netgalley I had such high hopes for it but it seems most everyone feels the same way about it, that it just didn’t live up to their expectations.
    Wonderful honest review!! Writing reviews like this one can be so hard and you did a great job. 🙂

    Like

  6. Great review! Sorry this one didn’t work for you, hope you find a good one soon!! I’ve seen this one around & wondered about it, but I think I’ll pass. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  7. Ugh, Indigo sounds hateful. There are way too many great YA paranormal books out there to waste time reading all the crappy ones – and sadly there are many of those, too. Is there anything worse than slogging your way through a book where every character deserves s swift kick to the shins? I think not. Hopefully your next read will be an improvement on this one!

    Like

  8. Sorry this was such a disappointment for you Lola! I actually had a lot of fun reading this, and got a kick out of the characters being snarky. I can see what you mean about Indigo though. She does comes off as being pretty self-centered at first, and I had hoped for more world-building and paranormal as well. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  9. Ouch! Now this doesn’t sound appealing but I totally know how you’re feeling. I felt the same last week after reading The City of Lost Souls. I just wanted to throw all of them and smash them. Cause really. That Bishop guy seems like someone worth slapping and it you need help I’m here. Sorry that this one annoyed you and well I’ll stay away from it. Great review, Lola 🙂

    Like

  10. … I got this from Netgalley, too. 😦 ARGH I hate superficial characters and Indigo sounds like one of them.

    Hope your next read is better!

    Like

  11. Oh gosh! I’m sorry this was such a letdown Lola! 😦 I completely see where you’re coming from – unlikeable / annoying characters are no fun at all! Just from your descriptions of Indigo and the way she treats Paige from what you’ve mentioned in your review turns me off. And I personally think the whole point of books are to teach you a message or to entertain you; and this doesn’t sound like it has a positive message AT ALL. 😐 I’m probably going to skip this one since everything you’ve mentioned will probably bother me as well. Thanks for sharing though Lola, and BRILLIANT review! ❤

    P.S. Sorry I’ve been MIA for the past few days! I can’t remember if I told you or not (I’m sorry if I did & I’m repeating myself!), but I was on vacation without wifi, but I’m back now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I felt so bad for Paige!! It doesn’t. Maybe some could think it’s about family and all but she wasn’t even close with her mom and they kept secrets from each other so it kinda backfired. Thanks, Zoe!

      You didn’t tell me!! 😛 Yay you’re back!

      Like

  12. Hahah awesome review Lola! I really enjoyed it!

    I think the blurb makes the book sound interesting, but I can totally see how poorly executed it is. I’m not a fan of how Bishop randomly appears, and also the cover doesn’t match the blurb at all :/

    Like

    • Well, on the other hand, you did really enjoy I Want it That Way when I hated it so..
      But, yeah, the characters are very annoying and slap-worthy.
      And, nooooo, don’t break your kindle. I love when he counts the time remaining for us to finish the book, heheh.
      Thank you. 😀

      Like

  13. Lol, great review Lola 😉 I love that GIF from the beginning. Oh gosh, that message is horrible!! Ugh the ill-fated popular and perfect vs geeky and tormented. It sucks. ;/ Lovely review as usually 😉

    Like

  14. I’ve heard so many good things about this book but I guess it’s not for everyone, the plot sounds kind of stupid actually, I was considering this book entirely based on the hype, now I’m thinking it’s probably not worth that risk since the story doesn’t appeal to me that much!

    Like

  15. Ugh, well that stinks 😦 I’m all about the characters, though, so I know this won’t be for me. I’m okay not liking all the characters and finding them frustrating, but for them to be basically popularity craving monsters? Nah, I’ll pass. Oh, btw – love the new header 🙂

    Like

  16. Another Miss, eh? I’m sorry! I LOVE witches and magic and that sort of thing, but this book for some reason didn’t really catch my attention as much as I would’ve expected it to… I am SO glad I didn’t read it! Horrible characters? NO thank you! Other horrible stuffs… um no. I think I’m gonna pass on this one, witchy or not.

    Great review girly! 🙂

    Like

  17. I do so love the tone of your reviews. When I saw you gave this one 1 star, I couldn’t wait to see you rip into it. Seriously, reader after my own heart. I felt precisely the way you do (hating the characters) about The Rise and Fall of Great Powers by Tom Rachman (scathing review on my blog). Seriously terrible people. Anyway, the review was fun to read. Reviews don’t always keep me from reading a book, but in this case, you have succeeded.

    Like

Leave a Reply

