Author Interview: Sherry D. Ficklin (Queen of Someday)


THE AUTHOR

Her web site.

Sherry D. Ficklin is a full time writer from Colorado where she lives with her husband, four kids, two dogs, and a fluctuating number of chickens and house guests. A former military brat, she loves to travel and meet new people. She can often be found browsing her local bookstore with a large white hot chocolate in one hand and a towering stack of books in the other. That is, unless she’s on deadline at which time she, like the Loch Ness monster, is only seen in blurry photographs.
In her spare time she co-hosts Curvy Writer Radio and is constantly trying to take over the world.
 
THE BOOK
Queen of Someday Book Cover

Title: Queen of Someday
Series: Stolen Empire #1
Publisher: Clean Teen Publishing
Publication Date: October 7th, 2014
Genres & Themes: YA, Historical Fiction, Romance, Forbidden Love.

BLURB:

Before she can become the greatest empress in history, fifteen-year-old Sophie will have to survive her social-climbing mother’s quest to put her on the throne of Russia—at any cost.

Imperial Court holds dangers like nothing Sophie has ever faced before. In the heart of St. Petersburg, surviving means navigating the political, romantic, and religious demands of the bitter Empress Elizabeth and her handsome, but sadistic nephew, Peter. Determined to save her impoverished family—and herself—Sophie vows to do whatever is necessary to thrive in her new surroundings. But an attempt on her life and an unexpected attraction threatens to derail her plans…

In a battle for the soul of a nation, will love or destiny reign supreme?

THE INTERVIEW

To start off, is there something that would be interesting we knew about you? Something maybe a few people know…? *suggestive eyebrows*

Let’s see, I am a HUGE nerd hoarder. My office is full of sonic screwdrivers, lightsabers, and other toys my kids aren’t allowed to play with. And when you walk through the door, it makes the swoosh noise from Star Trek thanks to a motion activated sound system.
Also, I have been removed from the White House 3 times. (Grew up near DC and went on field trips there ALL THE TIME. Plus, I get bored easily, which is a great combo for troublemaking.)

Aside from writing and probably taking care of your kids, what are your occupations?

Professional shanker and Queen of the nerds.

Did you always think you were going to become a writer?

I wanted to get paid to read, so I think this is the next best thing. I think I wanted to be a marine biologist for a while, but apparently I get seasick. It’s important to know your limitations, lol.

Who are the three authors that inspire you the most and why them?

Jen Armentrout is constantly humbling me with her story skills (which are mad, mad skills) and her speed at producing books. Also, Carlyle Labuschagne who manages to somehow be a killer author and the nicest person you will ever meet in real life, and Chelsea Fine who can write a scene that rips your heart out, then smile at you until you forgive her for it (she also had the COOLEST shoes).

A funny story you would like to share we us all? ^_^
I was at NYCC promoting my novel Extracted, and while I was there, I totally touched John Barrowman’s butt. It was fabulous. One of the highlights of my life.

Do you feel like, when you’re creating a character, you’re putting a bit of yourself inside each one of them?

Most of the time, at least the main character has a bit of me. But sometimes a character is so polar opposite from me, it is hard to write. I have to really get into their head and figure them out. Sophie was like that. I, personally, should never be asked to make good life choices, like ever, but she is very level headed and responsible. I kind of envy her that.

So we all agree the cover of Queen of Someday is a stunning one…Who on earth had the idea and what do YOU think of it?

Mayra at Strong Image Editing did the cover. It was her first and only attempt. I’m very used to going back and forth a bit with the cover designers, but she just nailed it first try. I opened the file and just cried and said, “that’s MY cover.” I could NOT be happier. She’s amazing. She asked me what feel I was looking for and I said, I want something classic, but still modern. And that’s exactly what she delivered.

Dream cast for Sophie and Sergei? And why would they be the perfect choice?

Sergei would be Colin O’Donahue, no question. Sophie is a bit tougher. I see her more as Maiara Walsh. And let’s not forget Logan Lerman as Alexander.

 Sergei-- Quen of SomedaySophie--Queen of Someday Alexander-- Queen of Someday

If you had the chance to meet your FAVORITE book character, who would it be and what would you ask him/her/it?

That’s a really tough one. I’m going to go with Will Herondale from the Infernal Devices. And I’d just make out with him for a while.

Which genre is your favorite to write about? And what themes do you usually try to include in your stories because they’re important for you? Ex: friendship, family, true love,…

I love writing YA, because it’s so fun to write about love and loss as experienced for the first time. As far as themes, I don’t think there are many. I think each story is very unique.
One answer:

Quick, quick!
Insta-love or insta-hate?
Both.
YA or Adult?
YA.
Milk chocolate or dark chocolate?
Milk chocolate.
Summer or winter?
Autumn.
2000 or 1850?
1850
Series or standalone?
Series
J.K. Rowling or Suzanne Collins?
Rowling
Ebook or hardcopy?
Hardcopy
Immortality or mortality?
Mortality
Vampires or Werevolves?
Both

Anything you would like to add?

Thanks so much for having me!!

Interview by Hit or Miss Books.

21 thoughts on “Author Interview: Sherry D. Ficklin (Queen of Someday)

  1. I have seen Queen of Someday somewhere. It’s in a cover war post and I admit that I immediately fell in love with that very gorgeous cover. I definitely want to check her book and give it a try… And boom, request sent in NG… Historical fiction is not really my thing but I think this one’s good. Look at the glowing reviews on GR. Hopefully, it will work out for me.

    The author’s first answer was really funny. Hahaha. What a great way to cause trouble.

    Like

  2. OMG Lola! I love your new blog layout. 😉 So, so gorgeous!

    I have an e-ARC of this beauty waiting to be read on my Kindle, so now I’m highly anticipating to read this because of Sherry’s quirkiness and awesomeness! Lovely interview, hun!

    Like

  3. Great interview, Lola! I have long wished for my own sonic screwdriver, and how cool to have been removed from the White House THREE times. Sherry Ficklin is my kinda gal 😉

    Like

  4. Great interview! I still haven’t read the book yet, but it’s near the top of my TBR list. I totally agree that the cover is beautiful. It’s actually the main reason I requested the eARC. And I loved the rapid fire questions at the end.

    Like

  5. This has to be one of the best author interviews I’ve read in a while, so please forgive my rambling comment 😀

    LOL “And when you walk through the door, it makes the swoosh noise from Star Trek thanks to a motion activated sound system.” <— THIS! I want one, that's just too great!!

    Kicked out of the White House 3 times? Your poor parents LOL (I'm assuming you were still a kid then? right?)

    LMAO – yes, I guess getting sea-sick does seem like a potential problem for a Marine biologist 😉 Getting paid to read is so the dream, though.

    Oh man – John Barrowman's butt. Yes, a defining life moment 😉

    I'm really close to finishing Queen of Someday right now actually (it's really good BTW – as great as the cover!) and I love the casting. Especially Colin O’Donahue for Sergei. I'm really curious about Peter, though. I'm totally picturing Jack Gleeson because when I think of little boys with too much power, his role as Jeoffery always comes to mind.

    "Summer or winter?
    Autumn." <—Rule breaker 😉

    Like

  6. Hahah thank you! I hope the author sees your comment. 🙂

    OH, we would both be rich if we got paid to read, right Berls? 😉

    I don’t think I know of that Jack Gleeson guy. Is he the one playing the role of the mean prince in Game of Thrones? 😛

    You broke the rule nooo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

