Review of Catch a Falling Star by Kim Culbertson


Catch a Falling Star by Kim Culbertson

My rating: 3.5 of 5 stars
Received: borrowed
Publication date: April 29th, 2014
Genres & Themes: YA, Contemporary, Romance, Friendship, Celebrity.

BLURB:

A deliciously charming novel about finding true love . . . and yourself.

Nothing ever happens in Little, CA. Which is just the way Carter Moon likes it. But when Hollywood arrives to film a movie starring former child star turned PR mess Adam Jakes, everything changes. Carter’s town becomes a giant glittery set and, much to her annoyance, everyone is starry-eyed for Adam. Carter seems to be the only girl not falling all over herself to get a glimpse of him. Which apparently makes her perfect for the secret offer of a lifetime: playing the role of Adam’s girlfriend while he’s in town, to improve his public image, in exchange for a hefty paycheck. Her family really needs the money and so Carters agrees. But it turns out Adam isn’t at all who she thought he was. As they grow closer, their relationship walks a blurry line between what’s real and what’s fake, and Carter must open her eyes to the scariest of unexplored worlds – her future. Can Carter figure out what she wants out of life AND get the guy? Or are there no Hollywood endings in real life?

REVIEW:

description

Summer arrived and Small-Town girl, Carter, sees her life change when a famous Hollywood celebrity arrives in her town, Little, CA. Turns out Adam Jakes is there to act in a new movie, a Christmas Carol retelling in fact.

Carter isn’t the kind to fangirl over actors and that’s why she would be perfect as Adam’s fake girlfriend. She is someone who doesn’t take much place, is calm and could make Adam look like the most adorable boyfriend. The only reason she does accept the proposition is to save her brother, John, who is an addict and owes money to someone. A LOT of money…

While this could seem like a predictable—it is—, cheesy—that too—story, it also is one of the cutest and…light stories I’ve read this year. Yes, the plot could have been deeper and more detailed but, if you could see the story as I do (cute summer read) you will enjoy this book regardless those elements.

The characters were great but do lack of characterization when you think about it. They are all likeable but that can be, probably, because we don’t know them that well…so we can’t actually judge them or it would seem unfair…somehow. The only character we do manage to get to know well enough is Carter, our main one, and that seemed enough for me since I did connect with her and empathized with her situation.

Adam is…who you think he might be; handsome, popular, charming, in-love-with-his-iPhone, and living in this I-m-a-movie-star-everybody-loves-me nutshell. BUT, he has a major character development and that pretty fast in the story I must say. That fact seemed very unrealistic because, while I believe someone can change,—not completely though—I don’t believe they can do so that fast. STILL, if Adam had stayed the way he were before, I may not have liked this book as much as I do now.

What a beautiful writing this story contains! The author included some wonderful and impressive metaphors from time to time and those were absolutely one of the things I loved most in her writing. Her style is great and she managed to write this story with a pacing that is neither slow nor fast, which is not a very easy thing to do.

The plot is very Disney-like (except for the addiction) and I loved that about it but, while I know John’s problem may have been tone of the ‘starting points’ of the story, I was wondering why that had to be it. The ending doesn’t let us know much about John when I hoped it would. I thought that he might do…what the author led us on to think he might do. It just felt like filler at the same time (for him being in the story.)

I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a light contemporary romance summer read. The author has a true talent in writing so I’m looking very forward to reading her other and next works.

View all my reviews on Goodreads.

32 thoughts on “Review of Catch a Falling Star by Kim Culbertson

  1. Aw, that gif is so adorbs! A cute summer read that doesn’t go in depth that much is sometimes really good, especially for a mindless beach read. I’m glad you connected with Carter! Yeah, change requires time, so I can see why Adam’s change didn’t sit that well with you. Disney-like? 😀 Heh. I love Disney! I’m glad you enjoyed as a whole, Lola 🙂

    Like

  2. I need these kinds of light and fluffy books inbetween heavy reads. I’m glad it succeeded in that department, although I find that characterization often suffers in many cutesy and light contemporaries. Well at least the writing is good! Even the most predictable story can be enjoyable with the right execution. Lovely review, Lola!

    Like

  3. Sometimes even if a story is predictible it’s ok because the rest is well done. I’m glad it’s the case here, it sounds perfect for a summer read. Thanks for the review because I didn’t know this one at all.

    Like

  4. What a cute read, Lola. I think I can handle my Contemporaries light and fun. I always enjoy reading about having a fake boyfriend or something in that vein. It makes things more interesting, in my opinion. Haha! I would surely keep this in mind, if ever I need a cute summer read. Lovely review, Lola! 😀

    Like

  5. I started this one, but I put it on hold to read some other book and I never picked it up. I honestly just wasn’t invested in it as I expected, which is weird because I’m normally all for cutesy books like these! I’m glad that you liked it though despite the cheesy scenes and Adam’s fast character development.
    Lovely review, Lola.

    Like

  6. I secretly (well not so secretly anymore haha) have a love for Disney channel shows so I’ll probably like this book. I want to give it a whirl when I get the chance 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

